Mayor confirms new set of ZCWD Board of Directors for 2015 PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 22 January 2015 11:49

Former Mayor Efren F. Arañez was sworn last January 14, 2015 by City Mayor Ma. Isabelle Climaco as the new Chairman of the Board of Directors of Zamboanga City Water District (ZCWD) in a simple ceremony held at the City Hall.   Representing Business/Financial Sector, Chair. Arañez was appointed member of the Board of Directors in February 2009.  His term will end on December 2018.

Chairman Arañez served as acting Mayor and City Mayor of Zamboanga  in 1988, elected City Councilor in 1988, re-elected in 1992 and was elected Vice-Mayor in 1995.  He is also actively involved in various civic and religious organizations that focus on community development and service to the poor.

Elected Vice-Chairman and Board Secretary were Southern City Colleges (SCC) President Edwin Mateo Caliolio representing the educational sector and Jose Vicente “JV” F. Atilano III for the civic sector, respectively.

Dir. JV Atilano is also an active Rotarian since 2002, and has served the organization in various capacities:  Vice-President in 2003 to 2004, Club Secretary in 2005 to 2006, Club President in 2006 to 2007, Assistant Governor in 2009 to 2010, Rotary Foundation Chairman since 2012 and as District Chair for the Rotary World Peace (Fellowship). He was also declared a Multiple Paul Harris Fellow with a 4,000 US dollar contribution to the Rotary Foundation.

Thru the invitation of the Board, applicants are being selected by the concerned sectors. Under Section 10 of PD 198(otherwise known as the Provincial Water Utilities Act of 1973), the Mayor appoints the directors from the list of nominees transmitted by the ZCWD Board Secretary.Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA), on the other hand, reviews and confirms the appointees to determine compliance with PD 198.

The ZCWD Board of Directors represents one member from thebusiness and financial, civic, professional, educational and women sectors of the community concerned. — Raul Ruben Rivera, Jr./ Public Relations Officer B (JO)