4 WMSU studes awarded as FOZYL on Dia de Roseller PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 12 February 2015 12:01

The City Government of Zamboanga, on Monday, February 9, commemorated the 110th birth anniversary of the very first senator who hailed from the city—a celebration that is now on its 9th year.

As part of the anniversary, the government, through City Mayor Hon. Ma. Isabelle Climaco-Salazar awarded Five Outstanding Zamboangueño Young Leaders (FOZYL) for 2015—four of which are from Western Mindanao State University.

Three of the awardees are currently enrolled in WMSU: Khenn Arquiza, AB Political Science IV; Fharnieza Mohammad, BS Biology IV; and Charmaine Key Aurea, AB Political Science III; while the other outstanding leader from WMSU, Marti Gregorio is a BS Nursing graduate.

The awarding was held at Garden Orchid Hotel after the wreath-laying ceremony held at the bronze monument of R.T. Lim along Normal Road, which was attended by WMSU officials, City Mayor Climaco-Salazar and some of the late Senator Lim’s family and relatives.

Mayor Beng Climaco and R. T. Lim’s daughter, Victoria, recounted some memories and achievements of the late senator and how he sparked change in Zamboanga City.

Senator Lim, born on the 9th of February, 1915, became a member of the Senate and the House of Representatives from 1949 to 1963. In 1973, Senator Lim served as a Court of Appeals Justice.

Zamboanga City, through Ordinance Number 283 dated 2006, celebrates the annual Dia de Roseller T. Lim in honor of the Senator’s legacy to the province, being the only politician who was elected to the Philippine Senate. —  AJ Dalugdug – PAO, WMSU