Zamboanga Press Club elects 2014-15 officers PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 20 June 2014 00:00

GMA-7 correspondent and DXVP radyo “Ora de Arangkada” lead anchor Jayvee Francisco was re-elected as the 33rd president of Zamboanga Press Club (ZPC) last June 14 at the lobby of Centro Latino in Paseo del Mar. He committed that ZPC will do more programs and projects like continuing education to media practitioners, improvement of the club’s office, sports and community outreach among others on his second term.

Elected together with President Jayvee are Executive VP - Eugene Lasprilla (Zamboanga Today and RMN); VP for Print - Monch Follosco (Zamboanga Today and RMN); VP for TV - Richard Falcatan (DxNO and RMN/eMedia);
VP for Radio - Elsie Molina (DxMR - Radyo ng Bayan); Secretary - Marilyn Delos Santos (Bombo Radyo); Treasurer - Noning Antonio (Daily Zamboanga Times); Auditor - Nonong Santiago (Zamboanga Today and Brigada).

The new Board of Directors are : Chairman - Bong Garcia (SunStar Online and PNA) with members : Joey Bautista (City Hall and Daily Zamboanga Times); Hermie Ventura (RMN/eMedia);  Roel Pareño (Philippine Star); Hader Glang (Zamboanga Today); Santos Cortez (Brigada); and Kikay Carzada Taola ( FUBC).

Atty. Jovian Diesto, former Daily Zamboanga Times assistant editor, stood as the chairman of the election board. ZPC is the leading media organization in Western Mindanao and on its 33 years of media service.

I personally requested from President Jayvee that there will be intensive information campaign of the press club's activities to all members so that there will be more involvement. Like Philippine Inquirer correspondent Julie Alipala also, I hope the club will move also to improve benefits and protection for local media people.

By Dante Corteza

Proverbs 16:3 “Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established.”