Zamboanga Toastmasters 14th year – getting better PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 07 August 2013 00:00

If you want to improve your communication skills in speaking whether speaking extemporaneously in public, doing or passing interviews, doing presentations in front of a class or audience, or plainly expressing what’s in your mind and getting your message across loud and clear, Toastmasters Club  is the international speech organization you should join.  It does not only develop one’s skills in communication but also discover its member’s leadership potentials.

Worldwide, the club meets once a week in their respective places and help each member builds self-confidence in speaking in a proper and professional way. From introduction to spieling jokes, to delivering formal speeches before a live audience with no ahhs, hmmm, stammering, and stuttering, Toastmasters are guided and mentored along the way to be better speaker. It’s learning, discovering, improving and developing oneself in every meeting.

This is what Zamboanga Toastmasters Club (ZTC) has been doing for the last 13 years. It has enjoined a variety of members from politicians to business people, students to teachers, managers to rank and file employees.  They have learned and keep improving themselves every year as speakers and leaders.

Last July 28, 2013, ZTC formally installed its 14th officers and inducted new members at Palmeras.  It was witnessed by 5 Toastmaster Governors - Regional Advisor Eliza Tay, District 75 Governor Katrina Letarga (keynote speaker), Past District Governor Victor Navales, Lt. Gov for Education & Training Dotty Du, and Division E-Governor Liberty Panelo.

12 new members were welcomed in the club, namely, Glenn Salvacion, Pamela Tarroza, Roxanne Salamerio, Joanne Necessario, Jay Arcillas, Delia Hernandez, Kiamee Abubakar, Police Officer Jose Bayani Gucela, Zamboanga Sanguniang Sec. Zenaida Jayme, and WMSU president Dr. Milabel Ho. According to Dr. Rodel Agbulos, Dr. Ho will open a new Toastmaster Club at WMSU University soon.

Awards for Excellency in accomplishments were handed to out-going president Gigie Condeno, in-coming president Shelly Anne Macapili, officers Cacai Wee and Nancy Balan. Pins of gratitude were given to past presidents Oliver Ong, Dominic Wong, Jasmin Propeta-Nunag, Dr. Rodel Agbulos, and Juliet Yu. Special awards for outstanding service and dedication to ZTC were also given to Cacai Wee, Dominic Wong, and Dr. Rodel Agbulos. The Mr. Toastmaster of the Night was Dr. Rodel Agbulos with Shelly Anne Macapili as the Ms. Toastmaster of the Night.

The 14th officers of ZTC are banker Shelly Anne Macapili (President), Cacai Wee (VP- Education), Ricardo Adjawie (VP-Public Relations), Dominic Wong (VP-Membership), Ma. Cris Cuartocruz (Secretary), and Nancy Balan (Treasurer), and Glenn Salvacion (Sgt at Arms) with Gigie Condeno as Immediate Past President.

Anyone interested to develop themselves can join Zamboanga Toastmasters Club. They meet every Friday, 7pm, at the Emerald Room of Grand Astoria Hotel.

By Dante Corteza

“Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

Last Updated on Wednesday, 07 August 2013 09:56