2nd Lando Navarro Memorial Cup 2013 PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 03 September 2013 11:08

The 2nd Lando Navarro Memorial Cup 2013 of the ZASBA (Zamboanga Amateur Softball/Baseball Association) touched base last September 1, 2013 at the Sta. Maria Elementary School. Team JK won as the over-all champion in the Men’s Category with the Main Coat Tugbungan coming in as 2nd runner-up;  Team Balichix grabbed the championship in the Women’s Category. The game started last June 16, 2013 with 12 teams participating in this fast-pitch men and women invitational softball tournament.

Now on its 2nd year, ZASBA president Engr. Arnold Hachero said that this event promotes camaraderie and fellowship among Zamboangueños softball players as a wholesome weekend entertainment and recreation for community folks.

Engr. Hachero added that ZASBA is grateful to the Navarro Family who supported this sporting event in memory of the late businessman and sportsman Rolando “Lando” Navarro. Lando’s wife, Cory, said that her late husband Lando has always been a sport enthusiast and a supporter of sport development in our city. And I believe he could have done more if he had live longer.

Other officers of ZASBA are Felipe Salcedo (Vice-President); Rommel Alejandro Secretary); Kiko Francisco (treasurer); Ruben Burillo (auditor); Adut Alfaro (PIO); Engr. Zaldy Francisco (Business Manager); Chando Arcillas (Chief Umpire Coordinator); Tony delos Reyes and Abner Padua (Chief Sport Coordinator); Tomas Francisco (Sport Adviser); and Rizalino Sta. Teresa, Alvin Francisco, and Anni Parmilosa as Board of Trustees. ZASBA is an affiliate of ASAPHIL or the Amateur Softball Association of the Philippine

By Dante Corteza

Philippians 4:13 (Strength from God). “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”