2014 Zamboanga City’s Top Achievers PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 03 March 2014 12:33

In celebration of the 77th Dia De Zamboanga, the City Government of Zamboanga honored nine local individuals and institutions this year. It was held at Centro Latino last February 25 in a formal awarding ceremony dubbed as 2014 Local Achievers Awards. The awardees were recognized for bringing honor and prestige to our city.

During the ceremony, Mayor Beng Climaco-Salazar expressed gratitude and extolled the awardees for excelling in their fields of expertise and for helping contribute to the development of Zamboanga City.

Topping the list is Former Assemblyman Hon. Juan S. Alano who was posthumously bestowed with the the highest award Orgullo de Zamboanga Premiar.  His award was received by his living family members. Alano was the author of the Commonwealth bill that created Zamboanga as a Charter City approved by Philippine President Manuel L. Quezon on October 12, 1936.

The Public Service Award was given to Former Zamboanga City Vice Mayor Efren “Nonie” Arañez. He was cited for his dedication and exemplary service to the people of Zamboanga not only as former public official but as head of the longest running orphanage— the Reception and Study Center for Children (RSCC) in Talon-talon.

For the Culture and Arts Award, living legend singer Julia Teresita “Titang” Jaldon was honored for promoting and preserving the Zamboanga’s language, Chavacano, through her songs which she mostly composed. This is a long over-due award for her I say.

Pasonanca’s Country Chicken managed by Chef Ricardo “Ricky” Manzano was conferred the Tourism-Oriented Establishment. This is one gourmet place where one can have fine dining without spending so much with families and friends.

Lovely businesswoman Anita Kaw of Family Sardines was bestowed the Investment Promotions Award. Her company is one of the biggest contributors to the economic growth of our city.

Local wrestling champion Johnny Morte received the Sports Aware while the laudable group, Kabalikat Civicom Chapter 183 Zamboanga Central, was honored with the Community Service Award.

For our tax payers, Coca-cola Bottlers Phil. Inc. was recognized for being the Top Corporate Taxpayer award while Engr. Al-Hassan Hasiman of the Al-Raf Construction Firm is this year’s Top Individual Taxpayer.

Mayor Beng bestowed 6 Mayor’s Award to individual who received national awards and citations. They are Metrobank 2013 Country’s Outstanding Police Officers in Service (COPS) SPO1 Eduardo de Guzman Covarrubias and PSInsp. Arlan Dalumpines ; PWD-Apolinario Mabini 2013 Awardee Teddy Kahil conferred by President Benigno Aquino; Outstanding Volunteer (Youth Category) by the Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA) Mark Conrad Ravanzo; and two awardees of the Mga Bagong Rizal Pasg-asa ng Bayan” by the  Philippine Center for Gifted Education, namely, Adriel Earl Toribio and Debra Ann Ponce.
Mayor Beng was assisted in the awarding by City Administrator Antonio Orendain and Councilors Myra Abubakar, Kim Elago, BJ Guingona, and VP Elago.

By Dante Corteza

"Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths." Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV)