K of C Nuestra Señora Virgen del Pilar installed new officers PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 05 September 2012 16:39

Congratulations to the new officers of the Knights of Columbus (K of C)- Fourth Degree of the CAN no. 1993 who were installed into office last Sept. 1, 20-122 at the Sapphire Hall of Grand Astoria Hotel. It was attended by more than 100 assembly members and District Deputies coming as far as Jolo Assembly. The installation theme was “SO THAT THE WORLD MAY KNOW NEW HOPE” was taken from the international theme of the Knights for Columbian year 2012-13.

Zamboanga Red Cross Administrator and newly inducted Zamcelco Board Director SK (Sir Knight) Victor “Vic” Liozo, Jr. is the new head of the assemble as the Faithful Navigator. The other main officers are SK Dionisio B. Marquez, Jr.-Faithful Captain; SK Jose Q. Tan, Jr.- Faithful Admiral; SK Edgar D. Montero- Faithful Scribe; SK Mario Cabanlit- Faithful Comptroller; SK Reinfrido E. Ruste- Faithful Purser; SK Manuel J. Buen- Faithful Pilot with Rev. Msgr. Crisologo B. Manongas as Faithful Friar.

The Faithful Trustees are - SK Nestor M. Miranda Sr.(1 year), SK Teofilo O. Estero, Jr. (2 yrs), and SK Arnold B. Ablao ( 3 yrs) with Faithful Sentinels- SK Elmeraldo L. Viernes (Inner) and SK Medardo S. Alido (outer).

The different chairmen are SK Eduardo A. Arnad -Chairman on Patriotism; SK Victor D. Montero- Chairman on Membership; SK Alvin T. Tahir- Chairman on Ceremonials and SK Silverio A. Zuniga, Jr.- Commander of the Guards. The installation officer was officiated by SK Pedro Rodriguez, Jr. (Vice Supreme Master of the Philippines). SK Danny O. Macansantos was the Master of Ceremonies with SK Jun Onrubia as the Music Man. Present were the wives of the assembly officers and other invited district deputies and grand knights.

Zamboanga City District-2 Congressman Erbie Fabian was the honorable speaker and guest of honor. He is a true blooded Knight of Columbus member of Tetuan K of C Council. The Nuestra Senora Assembly is composed of several Councils such as Fr. Paguia(MCIC Cathedral), Claret, Mt.Montfellier( San Roque), Fr. Eusebio Salvador( Sta. Maria), Penafrancia and EAABThe other K of C Councils member of the Assembly 1993 are Holy Rosary Pasonanca, Cabatangan, Fatima Armor,Fatima Suterville, Lantawan and FatimaFlamingo

SK Liozo is at present the District Deputy of Z-01 (2nd term) and the Chairman of the Caballeros de Colon de Zamboanga, Inc. with present members of 300 plus coming from the 36 KC councils of the Archdiocese of Zamboanga.

The Fourth Degree Knights of Columbus are dedicated to promote patriotism enlightened by the Catholic faith. They work for the application of Christian principles in all levels of democratic government and distinguish themselves with heroic deeds for God, for our country, and for the order. They support religious, civic and charitable causes as are consistent with high ideals and oppose the institution and development of forces inimical to good Christian government. And lastly, they educate themselves and the world at large to be defenders of democratic institutions giving a greater knowledge and appreciation of the Catholic heritages. They are men of God for others!

By Tita Corteza