P3M electrification project in transitory sites launched PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 15 March 2014 11:57

Mayor Beng Climaco and officials from the Western Mindanao Power Corporation (WMPC), San Ramon Power Inc. (SRPI) and Zamboanga City Electric Cooperative (Zamcelco) on Thursday spearheaded the switch-on ceremony for the energization of transitory sites in Taluksangay and Tulungatung.

Funded by the Alcantara Group of Companies, the project was a subject of an agreement entered into by the City Government, SRPI, Zamcelco and the barangay chairmen of Taluksangay and Tulungatung for the benefit of the internally displaced persons now housed at transitory sites.

Mayor Climaco thanked the Alcantara Group of Companies composed of WMPC, SRPI and Conal Holdings as well as Zamcelco for the assistance which she said would greatly help improve the plight of the IDPs.

She likewise called on the concerned barangay officials concerned and the IDPs to help one another and support the government to vision to build back a better Zamboanga. “Magtulung-tulong tayo, ipakita din natin na kaya nating bumangon, kaya nating tumayo para sa kinabukasan ng ating mga anak” (Let us help one another, let us show that we can stand on our own and that we will rise up for the benefit of our children), she told the IDPs during separate ceremonial switch on ceremonies in Taluksangay and Tulungatung.

Joseph Nocos, Alcantara Group of Companies Vice President said WMPC and SRPI will constantly improve its power supply services as he vowed to pursue the long term solution to the power problem in Zamboanga which is the construction of the coal-fired power plant in San Ramon as soon as the needed government approvals are secured.

Meanwhile, IDP leaders both in Taluksangay and Tulungatung expressed gratitude to the city government, the Alcantara Group of Companies, Zamcelco and all other government agencies including humanitarian organizations and other groups for continuously looking after their welfare at the evacuation and transitory sites.

Present during the ceremonies were Engr. Archie Donato, WMPC Manager Torrejon, Ruben Tungpalan, Engr. Michael Tatel, Tulungatung Chairperson Ester Del Rosario, Taluksangay kagawad Jalani, Michael Ramillano and other officials. — Sheila Covarrubias