Zambo marks World TB Day PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 24 March 2014 11:27

The City Government through the Zamboanga Hermosa TB Council spearheads today, March 24, the observance of World TB Day with the overriding goal of raising community awareness on tuberculosis control and prevention.

The activity will kick off with a brief program at 8am today at the Western Mindanao State University (WMSU) covered court to be graced by Mayor Beng Climaco who chairs the TB Council. Highlight during the program will be the installation/re-installation of Council members.

The program will be followed by a parade around R.T. Lim Boulevard with the Joaquin Enriquez Memorial Sports Complex (grandstand) in Baliwasan as convergence point. The Council will then hold free consultation, X-ray, collection and examination of sputum among TB symptomatics and distribution of IEC materials for internally displaced persons (IDPs).

There will also be HIV testing and TB information campaign (audio recording) at the grandstand.

City Health Officer Dr. Rodelin Agbuslos said tuberculosis kills more adults each year than any other infectious diseases.

Citing records, Agbulos revealed that TB ranks 7th in the leading causes of deaths and 16th cause of illness in the city and that one of the major factors that hinder the control of the disease is the poor health-seeking behavior of the people caused by inadequate knowledge.

“This can result to late case detection and treatment of the disease, as well as poor treatment compliance,” the City Health Officer lamented.

The ZHTBC was created in 2007 through Executive Order CL 130-2007 which initiated various anti-TB strategies that led to increased awareness on TB control and prevention.

Agbulos, who sits as TB Council co-chair and action officer vowed to continue carrying out anti-TB programs in a bid to further minimize if not totally eradicate the disease in the city.

The composition of the TB Council include Mayor Climaco as chairperson, Agbulos as vice chair, Councilor VP Elago (SP chair on Health), Dr. Nimfa Torrizo (Center for Health Development), Marcelino Medina (ZCMC Medical Department), Dr. Dionisio Apolinario (Philippine College of Physicians), Dr. Cathy Garcia (Medical Sector), Josefina Bue (Nursing sector), Candelario Garcia (Laboratory sector), Dr. Mansueto Sabellina (Philippine Medical Association), Sheila Covarrubias (Media sector), Pastor Berlie Yap (Religious sector), Edwin To (business sector), Ronald Rellosa (Civic- President, Rotary Clubs Zambo), Dr. Milabel Ho and Dr. Mary Ruth Yanga (educational sector) and Dr. Timothy Arquiza and Rogelio Ruste (Non-government organization- PBSP and TB Task Force President, respectively). — Sheila Covarrubias