19 young graduates 2014 Peace Weavers awardees PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 25 March 2014 10:59

In their non-stop pursuit to mold peace champions in this city, Peace Advocates Zamboanga (PAZ) and Interreligious Solidarity for Peace (ISP) will confer the Young Peace Weavers Award to 16 deserving graduating secondary students and three graduating tertiary students for this school year, all of whom have made significant contributions to peace in their respective schools and communities.

For 13 years now the Young Peace Weavers Award is given annually by PAZ and ISP to the peace conscious students in high school and college both in public and private schools.

After they were endorsed by their respective schools, last Saturday (March 22) the nominees underwent the screening process with the screening committee which is being headed by Fr. Angel C. Calvo, CMF PAZ President and the lead convener of the ISP. For this year there were a total of 44 nominees from secondary schools and six from tertiary.

The criteria for being a young peace weaver is the active participation of the nominee in the peace building and instilling an awareness of the process towards the culture of peace as against the culture of violence in their schools and communities.

The 16 awardees from the secondary level for this year’s Young Peace Weavers are: Alhamdi A. Barahim (Lubigan National High School); Noryn Jane Maravilla Esquerra (Zamboanga City High School-Main); Devine Grace T. Rodriquez (Zamboanga National High School-West); Mailyn S. Macapili (Baluno National High School); Aldrin A. Tan (Ramon Enriquez High School); Swaib M. Tahlim (Tagasilay National High School); Aidine A. Salazar (Southcom National High School); Arden Hayudini Askali (Ayala National High School); Maria Glaine B. Olaso (Ayala National High School); Jolina Cañete (Sangali National High School); Pilar Mae V. Casimiro (Manicahan National High School); Francheska Fernandez (Maria Clara Lorenzo Lobregat National High School); Giovanie G. Perez (Maria Clara Lorenzo Lobregat National High School); Maika Geleen Rufeeda B. Mandin (Sinunuc National High School); Christian Dhale B. Gonzales (Claret School of Zamboanga) and Vincent Pilar Bautista (Bolong National High School)

While the three awardees from the tertiary level are: Kevin Roy P. Vimera (Ateneo de Zamboanga University); Moctar B. Abubakar (Western Mindanao State University) and Sarah Mae S. Sales (Western Mindanao State University).

The award will be bestowed on the awardees during their graduation rites. —Albert F. Arcilla/Peace Advocates Zamboanga