Thousands join peace rally in Basilan PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 05 May 2014 14:05

ISABELA CITY, Basilan — Some 7,000 people have gathered here Sunday in a peace rally urging Congress to approve the proposed Bangsamoro Basic Law “without undue delay.”

The participants—men and women—aboard jeepneys, trucks and motorcycles arrived in groups coming from this province’ 11 municipalities and two cities.

The gymnasium of the Basilan State College, where the peace rally was held, was filled with people who started arriving as early as 8 a.m.

The peace rally was organized by the Mindanao Alliance for Peace (MAP) and its allied Civil Society Organizations as well as the academe.

MAP Provincial Coordinator Hamdie Tanjil said the main purpose of the peace rally is to send across their strong appeal to Congress for the immediate approval of the proposed Bangsamoro Basic Law.

“For the sake of peace and progress, please approve and pass the Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) immediately. Our Honorable Representatives and Senators please do not deprive the Bangsamoro and the Filipino people of the promises of a peaceful and prosperous co-existence between and among all the constituents of the proposed Bangsamoro New Political Entity by the BBL,” Tanjil said.

“We believe that this (BBL) could be the solution for a sustainable peace in Mindanao,” Bangsamoro Indigenous Peoples Caucus Chairman Ahmad Al-Amin said in a separate interview.

Hazar Muarip Ahmad, president of the Barangay Women Groups of this province, said they are already “sick and tired of war.”

Ahmad said when the women and children are the very first ones to be affected once war erupts in a particular area.

She said war affects the quality of education of the children.

“Sa lahat ng pagkakataon pag may giyera, kami ang unang-una apektado. Kapag apektado ang isang nanay, pati anak apektado,” she said.

The peace rally was simultaneously held in Mindanao areas like the provinces of Lanao del Norte, North Cotabato, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi and in the cities of Pagadian, Cotabato, Davao, General Santos, Marawi and Tacurong.