Zamcelco bares district poll; bets disqualified in 2 districts PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 06 May 2014 11:14

Despite of disqualified candidates in District VIII and District X, the Zamboanga City Electric Cooperative, Inc. (ZAMCELCO) will push through with the elections in Districts III and V.

This after Zamcelco General Manager Engr. George Ledesma said there are supposed four districts that will participate in the May 11, 2014 election, but since no qualified candidates in District VIII and no one submitted Certificate of Candidacy (COC) in District X, the poll will be held only in Districts III and X.

“Nobody qualified in District VIII and the other District (X) no one applied and submit their candidacy. The Board will have to decide on it,” Ledesma said on whether there will be special election or none at all.

The qualified candidates for District V are being headed by Wilhelmino Bazan, Antonio Cabebe, Jr. and Danny Paparon, while  in District III, only Gammar Hassan was qualified as candidate based on the recommendation submitted by the Screening Committee Chairman Engr. Edgardo Ancheta with Technical Services Office (TSO) Head Engr. Cesar Melad and Finance Manager Julieta Bacason as members.

The disqualified candidates in District VIII include former Zamcelco president Elbert “Bong” Atilano, Jerry Ebias and former councilor Atty. Cesar “Sang” Jimenez.

In District III, the disqualified candidates include former Zamcelco director and Tugbungan Barangay Chairman Agustin Graciano, Jr. and Ernesto Berba.

The grounds for disqualification were based on the provisions of the Department of Energy (DOE) Circular NO. DC-2013-07-005 or the Implementing Rules and Regulations of Republic Act No. 10531 and the disqualified candidates have not met the requisite to qualify for the candidacy on their district.

It was learned that it is now for the Zamceclo Board headed by its president Omar Sahi to decide with a majority vote as to the conduct of a special election in Districts VIII and X. — MLF