DZT wins ‘Best Local Newspaper’ award PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 16 April 2011 15:10

Daily Zamboanga Times was among the media outfits that romped away with awards in the 2011 Requiza Students’ Choice Awards of the Western Mindanao University (WMSU) with awarding ceremony held at the Grand Astoria Hotel’s Sapphire function room last Thursday night.

Editor-in-Chief Roy Ramos represented DZT in receiving the “Best Local Newpaper” Award, besting at least four other local newspapers.

“We are reaping the fruit of our hardwork, dedication and patience,” remarked Ramos after receiving the award.

Rep. Erbie A. Fabian was adjudged as Best TV Talk Show Host under his Cuentas Claras talk show.
ABS-CBN and RMN (Radio Mo Nationwide) harvested almost all the awards respectively in television and radio categories.

The awards were based on a survey of over 1,000 WMSU students who were asked on their choice for best local TV, radio and print media.

DZT emerged as the unanimous choice of the WMSU students.
For two decades now, the people of Zamboanga City and its neighboring cities, towns and provinces in the Zamboanga Peninsula and Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao have relied on the uninterrupted service of Daily Zamboanga Times for factual and unbiased news and views.   

Several publications have folded up, but Daily Zamboanga Times still stands firmly on the ground, steadfast in its role and mission to disseminate up-to-date information guided by the principles of fairness, accuracy and sobriety. Since its birth, DZT has not ceased in pursuing the truth for social equality and justice through news and views.

The organizing committee of the 2011 Requiza Students Choice Awards is composed of Arnold C. Bucoy, events Coordinator; Karen Grafia, asst. events coordinator; Hannan Amilhasan, head for sponsorships; Louiesa May Galleposo, finance; Maryphil Almocera, productions; Johary Sharief, head for survey and research; Analie Francisco, logistics; Marnette Daguro, food committee, broadcasting IV. Mr. Edralin Villanueva is the adviser.