ADZU to honor peace activist, Mindanawon artist PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 14 August 2014 11:54

The Ateneo de Zamboanga University, in its commitment to honor exemplary individuals with relevant contributions to the values it upholds, organizes the Ateneo Special Recognition every year. For 2014 the AdZU Board of Trustees has approved the conferment of the Ateneo Special Recognition to two leaders who have made significant contributions in their respective fields.

The Ateneo Peace Recognition will be conferred upon Dr. Steven Rood for his significant contribution as an influential public intellectual and a passionate peace activist and for his scholarly works which bring to light socio-political issues that impact on peace and development in Mindanao and the Philippines. Dr Rood is the Country Representative for The Asia Foundation. He is currently serving as a member of the Third Party Monitoring Team for the implementation of the peace agreement between the government and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front.

The Fr. Eduardo P. Hontiveros SJ  Recognition for Culture and Arts shall be conferred upon Mr. Rey Mudjahid Ponce “Kublai” Millan for his exemplary contribution to the propagation of the Filipino heritage and for his enrichment of the Mindanawon character through his immense and distinctive works of art.

A special forum with the conferees will be held on August 15 2014, 8:30 AM at the Carlos Dominguez Conference Hall. This forum shall serve as an avenue for the AdZU community and its partners in the academe, the local government, and civil society groups to get to know our honorees and their achievements.

The Ateneo Special Recognition Convocation shall follow in the afternoon of the same day at 3:30 pm at the Multi-Purpose Covered Courts.

Every year the members of the AdZU community nominate individuals to be awarded during the Recognition ceremony. The nominations are submitted to the university’s Board of Trustees for deliberation. For this year, the AdZU BOT chose Dr Rood and Mr Millan as recipients of the said awards during their meeting on November 23, 2013.