3 take oath as RAC-9 members PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 27 August 2014 13:38

Land Transportation Office-9  Director Aminola P. Abaton, former Jolo mayor Rashdi Abubakar and Daily Zamboanga Times reporter Allen Abastillas took their oath  yesterday morning as members of the Regional Advisory Council -9.

The oath-taking ceremony was officiated by Sr. Supt. Severino B. Agustin,chief, Highway Patrol Group-9.

Other members who took their oath last July were Directed Ian Fredirick Capin of the Commission on Human Rights-9 ( Vice Chairman), Councilor Rommel Agan, Jess Burnos of the Maritime Industry Authority-9, businessman Jonathan W. Tan and former Integrated Bar of the Philippine ZAMBASULTA Chapter President Jose Rizalino L. Ortega (Chairman).

During a meeting held after the oath-taking ceremony, the council discussed matters on the recovery of stolen motorvehicles with spurious docucments, proposed conduct of meeting/seminar with dealers of second-hand car/motorcyclces, spareparts and accessoriesstore owners and the conduct of joint operations by the Land Transportation Office 9 with the  Highway Patrol Group 9 personnel in the implementation of LTO mandate on RA 4136 known as the Traffic Code of the Philippines and RA 6539 known as the Anti-Carnapping Law.

Agustin urged the council and all stakeholders in the community, especially the transport group and the general public, to help the authorities in combatting carnapping and thieves of motorvehicles.

The council also advises the public to those who want to buy secondhand motorvehicles to be extra vigilant and assert their rights by checking first with the HPG-9 and LTO-9 regarding the status of the units they intend to buy. — Allen Abastillas