Rep. Lobregat hails Zambo awardees for COPS, TOPS PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 08 September 2014 14:21

District 1 Congressman Celso Lobregat commended Zamboangueño police and military personnel who were included in this year’s list of awardees for Metrobank’s search for Country’s Outstanding Police in Service (COPS) and the Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS).

Two of the COPS awardees are assigned in Zamboanga City while the 3 military personnel included in the TOPS awardees are assigned in Luzon. They paid a courtesy visit on the congressman a few days before they were formally conferred with their respective awards by the Metrobank Foundation, Rotary Club New Manila East and PS Bank in elegant ceremonies held September 5 in Manila.

PCInsp. Reynaldo Ariño is the acting commander of the 5th Special Action Battalion, Special Action Force, Zamboanga City) - Police Commissioned Officers Categor and PO2 Ashear Usman Ismael  of the Counter Intelligence PNCO, Regional Public Safety Battalion 9, Zamboanga City) - Police Non-Commissioned Category are among the COPS awardees while Sergeant Eugene J Padilla PN (M)

(Philippine Navy Enlisted Personnel Category), Commissary Steward 2nd Class Felix Guaves II PN (Philippine Navy Enlisted Personnel Category) and Staff Sergeant Sheryl B Toribio PAF (Philippine Air Force Enlisted Personnel Category) are three of the TOPS awardees.

Padilla is from Zambowood, Guaves is from Tumaga while Toribio is from Pasonanca.

Citing their worthy accomplishments and achievements, the 5 Zamboangueno awardees are very deserving of the awards they received, Lobregat stated.

He hoped that the awardees would serve as inspiration to their fellow police and military personnel to also do their utmost best in the performance of their  duties and responsibilities.

Aside from joining the roster of outstanding cops and soldiers, the awardees also received trophies and cash prizes.

Yearly, the Metrobank Foundation spearheads three award searches for soldiers, cops, and teachers. Collectively known as The Outstanding Filipinos, the awarding ceremonies for all three searches were held last Sept. 5. — Jubels Santos