Parking aides taught on how to spot bombs PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 08 December 2014 12:02

Amid the constant security threat in the city, the City Council’s Committee on Peace and Order in coordination with the Philippine National Police (PNP’s) Bomb Squad, held an orientation seminar for parking aides at the Council’s Session Hall last Saturday.

The primordial objective of the seminar is to be able to identify different components of a bomb and identify possible actual Improvised Explosive Device (IED) for parking aides as front liners in the city streets.

The almost 100 participants learned different  types of bombs and IEDs including the latest Ammonium Nitrate Fuel Oil (ANFO) and different types of concealment like thermos, Balot vendor container, tool box, Tupperware, bag, plastic or metal pipes and other components of IED.

City Police Director Sr. Supt. Angelito Casimiro appealed to the parking aides to report immediately to concerned authorities the presence of suspicious baggage and suspicious looking persons.

“You’ll be the eyes, ears and noses for us to immediately respond to any given situation,” Casimiro said.

District 2 Councilor Elong Natividad, chairman of the City  Council;s Committee on Peace and Order, said the orientation seminar is a welcome development as the city is facing difficult task in addressing the peace and order situation.

“We need to be united to fight lawless individuals or group of people who are trying to create havoc in our beloved city,” Natividad said.

The participants organized and elected the City Parking Aide Association of Zamboanga (CPAAZ) with Bobong Wee as President; Abdulgafar Pungutan, Vice-President; Jocelyn Estrada, Secretary; Sharing Hussien, Treasurer; Abdul Basheer Ballaho, Auditor; Virgilio Mangubat, P.I.O.; Sargent-at-arms Roger and Darwisa Jacarain and the members of the Board of Directors (BOD); Alkham Hussin, Rada Amil, Alberot Maani, Gary Adjuran, Nihma Yap, Abras Bandahala, Mukhtar Kusin, Nassir Ballaho, Dadjilul Ahalul, Jr., and Hamid Sali. — Monch L. Follosco