NEA junks 11 complaints filed vs former Zamcelco prexy, et al PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 07 January 2015 13:31

The National Electrification Administration (NEA) has dismissed for lack of merit 11 administrative complaints filed against former Zamboanga City Electric Cooperative (Zamcelco) Board President Elbert “Bong” Atilano, Sr., and six other respondents

The administrative complaints were filed on April 11, 2013, by  Expedito Marquez, Jr., against the respondent-members of the  Board of Directors and officers of Zamcelco including Efren Perez, Omar Sahi, Ernesto Perez, Agustin Graciano, Victor Liozo, Jr.,  Mariane Salasain and Engr. Edgardo Ancheta for grave misconduct, grave negligence and dereliction of duty.

The complaints were filed for alleged violations of Sec. 14, Article  IV of Zamcelco By-Laws; NEA Bulletin No. 35 and PD 1645; Defiance of NEA guidelines and policy regarding the disallowance of  gasoline allowance; Violation of Section 4-B, Article XIV of the  Zamcelco By-Laws; Violation of NEA Bulletin No. 35; Passing a  Board resolution, giving certificate of appreciation to two NEA  officials; Furnishing copies of Board resolutions Nos. 130, 131  and 132 to DOE, NEA and other local officials; Reinstatement of  Board Executive Secretary despite questionable circumtances;  Engagement of the services of Atty. Vicente Solis as Coop Legal  Counsel to attend to Power Sales Agreement PSA) despite the fact that Atty. Quirino Esguerra was already hired as the cooperative’s legal counsel; approval of the PSA between SRPI and Zamcelco  without thorough discussion and deliberations; and the approval  of the PSA between SRPI and Zamcelco without NEA’s review and  approval.

NEA Administrator Edita Bueno dismissed all the 11 administrative complaints against the respondents in a decision issued on December 23, 2014.

The decision read “Wherefore, by authority of the NEA Board of Directors, the instant complaint against respondents Elbert Atilano, Sr.,  Efren Perez, Omar Sahi, Ernesto Perez, Agustin Graciano, Victor  Liozo, Jr., Mariane Salasain and Engr. Edgardo Ancheta is hereby  dismissed for lack of merit”.

Atilano was elated after he  received the order penned by NEA Administrator Edita  Bueno.

“What is good, NEA is fair in giving its judgment,” Atilano said, as he lauded the NEA officials behind the decision.

Atilano served as Zamcelco President from June, 2012 to March 29, 2013 or approximately nine months as the coop’s head.

“It only means thatwhat we have decided during my term as coop president was correct and proper for our member-consumers.  If we observe now, the city is experiencing lesser brownouts,”  added Atilano. — Monch L. Follosco