5 ZCSPC academic programs now Level III accredited PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 12 January 2015 11:26

At least five of the 24 academic programs of the Zamboanga City State Polytechnic College (ZCSPC), this city passed Level III (Phase I) accreditation process of the AACCUP (Accrediting Agency for Chartered Colleges and Universities of the Philippines), Inc.

Dr. Manuel T. Corpus, Executive Director of AACCUP announced this development to ZCSPC president Dr. Nora M. Ponce, in a letter dated December 29, 2014, after a team of accreditors visited the school on November 18-21, 2014.

The Level III (Phase 1) status is effective from December 31, 2014 to November 30, 2015, within which period the school may apply for Level III (Phase 2) accreditation survey. A program has to pass two phases of the Level III accreditation process for it to be awarded full-fledged Level III accreditation.

The academic programs accredited are: BS in Electrical Technology (BSET), BS in Electronics Technology (BSElext), BS in Mechanical Technology (BSMT), BS in Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology (BSRACT), and BS in Industrial Technology (BSIT) with majors in Civil Technology, Food Technology, Architectural Drafting Technology, Garments and Textile Technology, and Powel Plant Technology effective December 1, 2014 to November 30, 2015. The BS in Hotel and Restaurant Management (BSHRM), on the other hand, has been awarded Candidate Status for Level I effective December 1, 2014 to November 30, 2016.

Dr. Ponce congratulates the following members of the College Internal Quality Assurance Unit who were behind this recent feat:

Over-all Chair - Prof. Romel G. Guillermo

College Quality Assurance Officer - Prof. Carlos C. Lolo

Area I: Vision, Mission, Goals and Objectives Chair: Ms. Ma. Ruthie S. Borja Vice-Chair: Ms. Mercibelle A. Trinidad

Area II: Faculty Chair: Ms. Rachel V. Sebastian Vice-Chair:  Ms. Rosalie T. Reyes (Technology Programs)

Vice-Chair:  Ms. Emy Antonette (BSHRM)

Area III: Curriculum and Instruction Chair: Dr. Hermenegilda C. Fernandez (Technology Programs)

Ms. Arlene H. Soriano (BSHRM)

Vice-Chairs: Armilo A. Almodiel, BSET Engr. Alvin M. Narredo, BSET Mr. Alexius D. Silorio, BSELEXT

Ms. Reovil A. Daguplo, BSELEXT Mr. Zaldy S. Jul, BSMT Mr. Ivan Mikhail Chan, BSMT Mr. Victor P. Mohamad, BSRACT Mr. Rommel S. Tenerife, BSIT-ADT Mr. Ernesto  F. Bantug, BSIT-ADT

Mr. William L. Abao, BSIT-Civil Tech

Mr. Kensley C. Hoffdahl, BSIT-PPE Ms. Leah R. Morados, BSIT-GTT Ms. Jessica B. Nieva, BSIT-FT Area IV: Student Chair: Mr. Roy Valesco Vice-Chair: Mr. Heintje F. Marbe

AREA V: Research Chair:  Ms. April Love M. Flores

Vice-Chair: Mr. Ephraim D. Silorio

AREA VI: Extension and Community Involvement Chair: Mr. Alexius D. Silorio Vice-Chair: Mr. Andres Edilberto S. Paraguya AREA VII: Library Chair: Ms. Lourdes R. Alvarez Vice-Chair: Ms. Sonia S. Canlas

AREA VIII: Physical Plant and Facilities Chair: Mr. Pedro P. Gomez, Jr. Vice-Chair: Mr. Ernesto F. Bantug

AREA IX: Laboratories Chair: Engr. Jennifer C. Gargar Vice-Chair: Ms. Gloria T. Bernardo

AREA X: Administration Chair: Ms. Carina M. Abidin Vice-Chair: Ms. Bernadette J. Pagayonan

In a continuing pursuit for quality assurance in its academic offerings, ZCSPC will apply for Level III (Phase 2) accreditation of the aforestated programs within one year from December 1, 2014, and for First Survey Visit (Level I) of the BSHRM program, not later than one (1) year after the Preliminary Visit. — Evelyn C. Luceño