Zambo filmfest finalists bared PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 19 February 2015 12:01

City Hall yesterday released the list of films that passed the preliminary screening for the Zamboanga Film Festival (ZFF) 2015.

This year, the film fest has two categories: live action and animation and there are nine finalists for each category.

The finalists for the live action category are as follows: (1) El Cara de Mama by Kimberly Joy Kilat, (2) El Letratista by Ryan Covarrubias, (3) Quando by Mark Kim Tayona, (4) Sombra by Sheena Mae Alcala, (5) Escondido Amor by Icy Mae Colipano (6) Apasol by Ryan Joseph Murcia (7) Con Enfermedad y Buen Salud by Joseph Vincent Suarez, (8) Si el Curiosidad Mata Con el Gato by Aedrian Deniel and (9) Yesterday by Mark Anthony Lee.

On the other hand, the finalists for the animation category are as follows: (1) Balut by Jefrey Ramos, (2) Su Hyong by Lance Ayrton See, (3) Poaching by Wella Lynne Saclolo, (4) El Limosnero by Alexis Cheong, (5) Bira’y Bira by Martin Luigi Bugante, (6) El Bloques by Danica Jane Follero, (7) Atubanga by Danie Alted Nebrija, (8) Flaw? Where? by Jade Christel de Guzman and (9) Dragon Fruit by Richard John Barredo.

“Originally this was a project of the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) but this year they weren’t able to organize so the city took the opportunity to organize on their behalf,” said Cedrick Zabala who is the coordinator for this year’s film fest.

Zabala also said that this activity aims to showcase the talents of our young Zamboangueño film makers. “We added animation this year because few people know that Zamboanga is one of the animation hubs in Mindanao,” he added.

The screenings of these films are scheduled next week, February 23-25 and the screenings will have four blockings: 10 a.m., 12 noon, 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. at Cinematheque Zamboanga Legionnaire Street, Sta. Barbara. Admission is free.

Zabala said that there will only be one grand winner for each category. Announcement of winners for each category will be on the 25th of February in sync with the Young Achievers’ Awards Night. — Juseph Elas & Ella Dee Phuddih Cruz – WMSU OJT