Cong. Lobregat authored 4 bills, co-authored 120 others in 2014 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 02 March 2015 14:08

In terms of legislation in 2014, District 1 Representative Celso Lobregat authored a total of 4 bills and co-authored 120 others for the benefit and welfare not only of the people in District 1 but of the whole Zamboanga City and country.

These bills included the acts seeking the creation of the Pasonanca High School, and the Tulungatung National High School which have been approved by the House committees on basic education and culture and appropriations, the act creating the Mindanao Power Corporation (MinPow) which is pending with the House committees on Government Enterprises and Privatization and Energy and the act allowing Local Government Units to suspend mandatory wearing of motorcycle helmets amending for the purpose RA 10054 which is pending with the Committee on Transportation.

Lobregat also co-authored 120 other house bills related to education, national defense and security, energy and electric cooperatives, local government, health, teachers, nurses, solo parents, persons with disabilities, internally displaced persons, the poor, non-regular government employees, rubber industry, seaweed industry, coastal management, fishing industry, micro-small-medium enterprise and others.

Ten of the measures which the District 1 congressman co-authored included Republic Act 10633 or General Appropriations act 2014, RA 10634 or the Supplemental Budget, RA 10644 Prescribing the printing of graphic health warnings on tobacco products, RA 10645 Mandatory Philhealth Coverage for all Senior Citizens, RA 10647 on Ladderized Education, RA 10648 Providing Scholarship Grants to Top Graduates of all Public High School Enrolling for their First Year in SUCs, RA 10649 Increasing the burial assistance for veterans from P10,000 to P20,000, RA 10650 Open Learning and Distance Education and RA 10651 or the GAA 2015.

Lobregat is the vice chairman of the House Committee of Peace Reconciliation and Unity and an active member of 8 committees- Agriculture and Fishery Resources, Energy, Higher and Technical Education, Local Government, Mindanao Affairs, National Defense and Security, Public Information and Public Order and Safety.  — Jubels Santos