Globe Media Excellence Awards 2015 launched PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 14 March 2015 11:39

Here’s a challenge to local active media practitioners with outfits and outputs.

The Globe Media Excellence Awards 2015, a writing and broadcast competition,  was launched Friday in Zamboanga City.

The competition is categorized by print, broadcast and online.

In print category, the awarding committee will select Reporter of the Year for Print, where in recognition shall be given the Best Print Reporter (in English, Bisaya or Hiligaynon) touching any of the advocacies for consistent outstanding performance. The editor shall likewise be recognized.

Then the Investigative/Explanatory Story of the Year which the recognition shall be given to the Explanatory/Investigative Story that best enlightens issues of public importance to the readers and shows enterprise and excellence in data gathering, documentation, storytelling, presentation and reader involvement.

The Columnist of the Year wherein the recognition will be given to the columnist (in English, Bisaya, or Hiligaynon) with the best body of works on the identified social concerns.

Then the Photo Journalist of the Year in which the recognition shall be given to the photo journalist with the best photograph material on the identified social concerns.

In broadcast category, Reporter of the Year  for radio, television and investigative /explanatory story of the year (TV) will be recognized.

For online category, Blogger of the Year and Social Media Advocate of the year will be recognized.

Doris Mongaya of the GMEA said that entries along with photocopy of the media outfits must be sealed in a brown envelop and drop in Globe office in San José. this city for participants from Zamboanga City.

Participants will be competing among local media and those who will be chosen will compete other newsmen in the entire Mindanao.

The deadline of entries will be on June 30, 2015 and the awarding will be on November 19, 2015 in Davao City.

The winner will receive P20,000 in cash with trophy and the editor will receive P5,000 in cash. — Dan Toribio