KOC extols Beng for courage, conviction on BBL issue PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 29 May 2015 08:39

The Knights of Columbus (KOC), 4th Degree in the Philippines of Ferdinand Magellan Province, District 10 based in the city, has strongly commended Mayor Beng Climaco for her courage, conviction and firm stand and strong opposition to the prospect of including Zamboanga City under the proposed Bangsamoro entity.

In a resolution presented to Mayor Climaco during the program Thursday morning marking National Flag at the Rizal Monument fronting City Hall, the Knights of Columbus headed by District Master SK Jose Tan, Jr. extolled the chief executive noting her “unremitting and compassionate faith and her exemplary service to God, men and community.”

With pride, the KOC lauded the mayor for her firm stand and strong opposition to the institution and development of forces inimical to good Christian government and for continuously bringing to her office an overwhelming spirit of charity and compassion, acting from vision and enlightenment in conducting her administrative and official duties while always displaying the highest standards of personal and professional integrity and dedication.

“This distinguished religious woman and a devout Catholic has always given enlightenment, guidance and wisdom to the many entrusted to her care and has continuously administered abundantly and unstintingly to the common good and the needs of all,” the Knights of Columbus resolution stressed.

The KOC District Master and his regional and provincial deputies, assembly faithful navigators and district deputies, pointed out that it is the sense of the officers and members of the Zamboanga City 4th Degree Knights Joint Assemblies “that when a person of such noble aims and accomplishments is brought to its attention it is appropriate to publicly and jubilantly proclaim and commend that individual for the edification of others.”

The KOC, 4th Degree   in the Philippines are men working for the application of Christian principles in all levels of democratic government. Its members are in one mind and one spirit to bring full recognition and just tribute to those individuals who distinguish themselves and the ministry through their unremitting commitment and  pre-eminence of service. The members have always been the exponents in promoting patriotism enlightened by the Catholic faith.

The resolution was approved during the joint assembly meeting last May 24 and is signed by District Master Tan, Regional Deputy Jesus Aquino, Provincial Deputies Danilo Macansantos and Mauricio de la Peña, Assembly Faithful Navigators Alvin Tahir, Efren Santos, Policarpio Maramba and Al Librado, Jr. and District Deputies Eduardo Arnad, Nelson Basa, Jose Arnel Soriano, Enofre Cohay,  Angelito Pacatang, Jose Israel, Bonifacio Laborada, Alfredo Francisco and Victor Montero.  — Sheila Covarrubias