Beng extends trike franchise renewal to August 31 PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 30 May 2015 09:25

Mayor Beng Climaco has extended the deadline for the renewal of tricycle franchises from May 31 to August 31, 2015 in consideration of the short period given for the completion of documentary requirements in the renewal process.

Climaco together with the Tricycle Adjudication Board (TAB) met with presidents of the different tricycle associations operating in the city to tackle concerns raised by operators in view of the May 31 cut-off date set earlier through a City Council resolution.

Council resolution 518, approved on May 5, 2015 sets the deadline for the renewal of tricycle franchises on May 31, 2015. Operators however manifested that the time is too short given the numerous requirements needed to comply that include securing police clearance, renewal of registration of units with the Land Transportation Office (LTO) and several others.

Mayor Climaco said the 90-day reprieve would be sufficient enough for tricycle operators to process all the requirements prior to the renewal of franchises. She asked the officials of the tricycle associations present during the meeting to enjoin their members to make proper use of the extension granted to them.

The tricycle operators association officials meanwhile thanked the mayor for granting the reprieve although Noel Francisco of WMSU-TODA said operators and drivers in the first place should be conscious enough to comply with the law and not be remiss in their obligation to renew their franchises.

All tricycle operators agreed that the 90-day period extension is more than adequate to comply with the requirement.

Together with the mayor in meeting with the tricycle operators were Councilors Luis Biel III, Roel Natividad and Kim Elago, City Administrator Antonio Orendain Jr., City Legal Officer Atty. Jesus Carbon, Linda Mandi and Tuting Cabidog of the CLO.

Operators present included Leoncio Cofino of PASADOZ, Torefredo Paclibar of LB-TODA, Regino de los Santos of VSPM-TODA, Alvin Apolinario and Wilfrido Bunda of CATODA, Alan Suan of ZTADO-MPC, Hermogenes Awid of RUEDA-TODA, Lucia Soria of SODA and Noel Francisco of WMSU-TODA. — Sheila Covarrubias