NAVFORWESMIN marks 19th year PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 10 October 2015 11:38

by Allen  Abastillas

The Naval Forces Western Mindanao celebrated its 19th founding anniversary Friday with the theme, “Leading Towards a Secured Maritime Environment in Western Mindanao, the Right and Honorable Way”.

The celebration was held at Tangan Gym Naval Station Romulo Espaldon in Bagong Calarian Zamboanga City.

Vice Admiral Caesar C. Taccad, Flag Officer in Command, Philippine Navy, was not able to grace the event due to some higher command schedule. He was represented by Rear Admiral  Leopoldo M. Alano who read his message.

In his message, Taccad said the sailors and marines here in Mindanao are the catalysts for growth and development in safeguarding the country’s water, protecting and securing the people.

Rear Admiral Primitivo P. Gopo, commander NAVFORWESMIN, for his part,  said that the sailors and marines ultimately made their sacrifice for the integrity of the country.

He said they are dedicated in protecting, preserving and securing environment and lasting peace in Western Mindanao.

The awardees of th 19th founding anniversary are MBLT-8 for best Battalion 2015, PS - 22 Patrol Ship of 2015, AT 297 Transport Ship, PG 393 Patrol Gun Boat, MU1 (T) Gene G. Lura, Enlisted Personnel of the year, Ritchmond R. Abianza, Civilian Employee of the year, Combat Support Service Brigade, Naval Intelligence Security Group, 2MCBDE, Camp Navarro General Hospital, 1306th PNDD, Mega Fishing Company, New Crystal Clear Vision Clinic, Philippine Coconut Authority, Latter Day Saints, TESDA –IX,  60th NARG, Reading Club 2000 , Major Dustin E. Del Coore and Col. Martin G. Villasan, Philippine Marines. — Allen Abastillas