All set for MOFYA 2015 reg’l awards PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 17 October 2015 12:51

All is set for the ‘Model OFW Family of the Year Awards’ (MOFYA) or ‘Parangal sa Matatag na Pamilyang OFW,’ regional awards ceremony at a local hotel on October 19, 2015.

MOFYA is part of the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration, Regional Welfare Office IX (OWWA-RWO-9), yearly priority program showcasing success stories and endurance over the challenges on  family relations and to give proper recognition to the outstanding achievement of the Overseas Filipino Workers (OFW’s) and their families which will serve as the role models for the whole OFW population.

Highlighting the occasion is the program and awarding ceremonies with OWWA Regional Director Hassan Gabra Jumdain leading the opening remarks followed by the inspirational message of Mayor Maria Isabelle Climaco, presentation of the regional MOFYA nominees (land/sea based categories), presentation of the Regional Selection and Screening Committee (RSSC) and the message of the keynote speaker Dra. Anicia Alvarez, first MOFYA national winner in 2005, followed by the awarding of the MOFYA regional winners.

A total of seven regional nominees are contenders for the regional award which include land-based category; Albie Usama, Putik, Zamboanga City; Engr. Jeffrey Singson, Guiwan, Zamboanga City; Marlyn Lumacad Sumagdang, South Mapang, Rizal, Zamboanga Del Norte; Panfilo Sumabong Aninon, Zamboanga Del Norte and Johnny Tolomia Carton, Upper Calarian, this city, and for the sea-based category; Ronald Imperial, Minaog, Dipolog City and Engr. Alexander Omandam Pagasian, Villarico, Pinan, Zamboanga Del Norte.

Director Jumdain thanked all the sponsors and the city government of Zamboanga through Mayor Beng Climaco for its all-out support to the programs of OWWA and OFWs.

“This is to give recognition to deserving OFW families which will serve as an inspiration to other families, in order, to boost the morale of the OFW as an excellent example to every Filipino,” Jumdain said.

The RSSC is being composed of the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) Regional Director Sisinio Cano as chairperson; OWWA Regional Director Jumdain, vice-chairperson; and the members are Dr. Orlando Paber, OFW Federation president Ladjakaya Abubakar, Ronnie Lledo and Land Bank of the Philippines (LBP) Dapitan City Branch head Laneli Elum.

The regional winners will represent Region-IX for the National MOFYA competition in Manila on December 15, this year. — Jazmine Vanessa Upao-LCO