Climaco faces Yanga, 3 others in mayoralty race PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 17 October 2015 12:53


Commission on Elections District 1 officer Atty. Stephen Roy Cañete said that as of 1:00 in the afternoon yesterday five persons have filed their certificates of candidacy for the mayoralty post.

They are re-electionist Mayor Beng Climaco of Liberal Party, retired Police Chief Supt. Mario B. Yanga, independent candidate, Albert Cajayon of PDP Laban, Nashier Abdulla, independent candidate and Nur Sangkula of Partido Bagong Maharlika.

For Vice Mayor, the candidates are reelectionist Cesar Iturralde under LP, Alih Andang Adjarani of Partido Bagong Maharlika, three termer Councilor Melchor Sadain and Councilor Noning Biel.

House of Representatives District 2 Rep. Lilia M. Nuño and Dist. 1 Celso Lobregat also filed their certificates of candidacy.

Servant-leader Monsi Dela Cruz had earlier filed his CoC for District 1 congress seat, putting him in a second collision with Lobregat.  Dela Cruz lost to the latter in the 2010 race.

Cañete also said that a total of 34 candidates had filed CoCs for council seats in District 1 and 35 in District 2. —  Allen Abastillas