City creates CREEDO to strengthen coops PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 08 July 2011 17:35

Cooperatives in Zamboanga have something to look forward to as the Zamboanga City Cooperative Development Council (ZCCDC) chaired by Mayor Celso Lobregat formally announced the adoption of City Ordinance 373 known as the Cooperative and Rural economic Enterprise Development Office (CREEDO) Ordinance.

The mayor made the announcement during the election and induction of the council’s new set of officers last Tuesday at City Hall Conference Room.
The CREEDO Ordinance is intended to institutionalize a loan program for the duly registered cooperatives in the City pursuant to Republic Act 9520 otherwise known as the Philippine Cooperative Code of 2008 which provides that “it is a declared policy of the state to foster the creation and growth of cooperatives as a practical vehicle for promoting self-reliance and harnessing people power towards the attainment of economic development and social justice.”

Mayor Lobregat called a meeting last March 23 to strengthen CREEDO operation which gave birth to the ordinance sponsored by Hon. Myra Paz Valderrosa Abubakar in her capacity as the Chairperson on the Committee of Cooperatives.

On top of that, after the Ordinance was approved into law, Mayor Lobregat issued Administrative Order CL-47-2011 designating the members of the CREEDO Committee and Technical Working Group to administer and manage the affairs of the newly created office.

According to the Cooperative Development Authority IX, as of December 2010 there were 839 registered and confirmed cooperative groups in the City however, of the figure, only 127 are operating while the rest were either dissolved or cancelled due to non-compliance.

With the CREEDO Ordinance in place, cooperatives are given additional financial option thru loans to sustain themselves.
Earlier in the meeting, the Zamboanga City Cooperative Development Council elected and inducted its new set of officers as provided in City Ordinance 254 which created its existence.

The newly elected officers were Dr. Joy Daguela of the Ateneo De Zamboanga University Multi-Purpose Cooperative (MPC)) as Vice Chairperson for Cooperative Sectors, Suzette Lota of the Department of Agrarian Reforms MPC as Secretary, Augusto Galoso, Manager of Land Bank Pettit Barracks Branch as Treasurer, Prof. Ricky Garcia of Western Mindanao State University MPC as Auditor, Remolita Sebastian of the Universidad de Zamboanga MPC and Dindo Deotico of Sta. Clareans Eco-Agro MPC as Public Information Officers  and Yasser Hanapi of the Zamboanga United Fish Vendors MPC and Rev. Pablo Palis of Sta. Catalina MPC as Sgt.-At-Arms.

Mayor Lobregat and a representative from CDA in the person of Mr. Ruben Cunanan, OIC Assistant Regional Director will automatically serve as the Chairman and Vice Chairman, respectively.
The ordinance also provides the creation of permanent and special committees such as the Committee on Education and Training which was assigned to the Department of Trade and Industry represented by Mr. Efen Rubio, Committee on Planning and Evaluation which is to be overseen by the National Economic and Development Authority represented by Mr. Rustico Varela, Committee on Ways and Means headed by Mr. Francisco Barredo of the City Social Welfare and Development Officer, and the Committee of Mediation and Reconciliation assigned to the Office of the Muslim Affairs represented by Mr. Pendatun Antaw.

Present also during the meeting were Councilors Nonong Guingona, Lilia Nuño, VP Elago, Rudy Lim, Reynerio Candido and Percival Ramos. — Richard Aliangan/City HallPIO