5 Sulu sultanate heirs sign covenant of unity PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 10 April 2016 14:26


The five heirs to the Sulu Sultanate throne gathered in  Zamboanga City on Friday to sign a covenant of unity or “Parjanjian sin Paghambuuk” in Tausug

The signing that took place at a local hotel was described as a historical move to unify and consolidate the different Houses of the Sultanate.

The event was initiated and sponsored by Sulu Vice Governor Abdusakur A. Tan and was adopted by the Sultanate houses which said it is timely and a well planned concept.

Observers said they expect other stakeholders in the Sulu Sultanate like civil societies, Ulama, professionals, academe, the MNLF and other caused-oriented groups and associations will support the unity covenant.

One of the provisions under the covenant states, “we, the members of the Royal Council of the Sulu Sultanate, organizing ourselves into a Council in collective pursuit of the cause and ideals of the Sultanate of Sulu, in firm resolve to establish a just, humane and Islamic Sulu Society, preserve the Tausug culture and tradition of freedom, promote peace and goodwill among ourselves, our families and Raayat. Pursue and invigorate the Tausug way of life and ensure the common good with justice and equity; do hereby unite and covenant as follows”.

The signatories and heirs are the Royal Highness Sultan Muedzul- Lail Tan kiram, Sultan Mohamad Venizar Jainal Abirin, Sultan Phugdalun Kiram, Sultan Muizuddin Jainal Abirin Bahjin and Sultan Ibrahim Q. Bahjin. They will also form a council called the Par- Inumpungan Barbangsa sin Kasultanan Sulu or the Royal Council of the Sulu Sultanate.

Witnesses to the signing were Gov. Abdusakur A. Tan II and Ustadz Abdulbaki Abubakar Grand Mufti of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao with Vice Gov. Sakur Tan. —  Allen Abastillas