Lobregat registers perfect attendance in 16th Congress PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 August 2016 11:54


Zamboanga City District 1 Congressman Celso Lobregat is one among 60 members of the House of Representatives who registered perfect attendance up to the last session of the recently concluded 16th Congress.

Based on the attendance records of the House of Representatives, Congressman Lobregat was present in all the conducted regular sessions and roll call for 23 session days.    The House was supposed to have convened for 52 days between July 27, 2015 and June 6 this year.

Lobregat made a name of his own by way of displaying exemplary performance in Congress and was accorded one of the hardworking members, especially in defending the best interests of his city. He fought to the last on the issue of the Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) which is one of the main items in the agenda of the past administration in search for long lasting peace in Mindanao.

House records show others who had perfect attendance like former House Speaker and Quezon City Rep. Feliciano Belmonte Jr., former majority leader Neptali Gonzales II, Rodolfo Albano III of Isabela, Jose Christopher Belmonte of Quezon City, Lito Atienza of Buhay, Eleandro Jesus Madrona of Romblon, Rodolfo Fariñas of Ilocos Norte, Carlos Padilla of Nueva Vizcaya, Rufus Rodriguez of Cagayan de Oro City, Oscar Rodriguez of Pampanga, Jorge Banal of Quezon City, Raul del Mar of Cebu City and Magtanggol Gunigundo 1 of Valenzuela City. Representatives Rosemarie Arenas of Pangasinan, Evelyn Escudero of Sorsogon, Herminia Roman of Bataan, Winston Castelo of Quezon City, Christopher Co of Ako Bicol, Roberto Puno of Antipolo City, Romero Quimbo of Marikina, Neil Montejo of An Waray and Ibarra Gutierrez of Akbayan also showed up in all 23 sessions.

Former president and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo and former Sarangani congressman and now Sen. Manny Pacquiao led the top absentees.

Arroyo had zero attendance as she was detained on a plunder case. Pacquiao showed up in only one of 23 sessions when the House called the roll of members. After his election as senator, he has promised to improve his performance and devote more time to his law-making job.

Julio Ledesma IV of Negros Occidental and Franklin Bautista of Davao del Sur were present in only three sessions, while Grex Lagman of Albay, Seth Frederick Jalosjos of Zamboanga del Norte and Hernan Biron Jr. of Iloilo showed up in four.

Kimi Cojuangco of Pangasinan, Magnolia Antonino of Nueva Ecija and Ma. Theresa Bonoan of Manila turned up in five sessions.

Ruby Sahali of Sulu and Ronald Singson of Ilocos Sur were present in six sessions, while Vicente Belmonte of Iligan City showed up in seven.

Joseph Durano of Cebu, Francisco Calalay Jr. of Quezon City, Douglas Hagedorn of Palawan, Francisco Matugas of Surigao del Norte, Damian Mercado of Southern Leyte and Elmer Panotes of Camarines Norte attended eight sessions.

Several members missed only one session. Among them were Elpidio Barzaga Jr. of Cavite, Alfred Vargas of Quezon City, Gus Tambunting of Parañaque, Eric Singson of Ilocos Sur, Josephine Veronique Lacson-Noel of Malabon and Victoria Noel of An Waray.

Aside from Pacquiao and Ledesma, the list of legislators who had a single-digit attendance record were:

Manila Rep. Maria Zenaida Angping: 9

Nueva Ecija Rep. Magnolia Antonino: 5

Davao del Sur Rep. Franklin Bautista: 3

Iligan City Rep. Vicente Belmonte Jr: 7

Iloilo Rep. Hernan Biron Jr: 4

Manila Rep. Ma. Theresa Bonoan: 5

Quezon City Rep. Francisco Calalay Jr.: 8

Pangasinan Rep. Kimi Cojuangco: 5

Davao Oriental Rep. Nelson Dayanghirang: 9

Rizal Rep. Joel Roy Duavit: 9

Cebu Rep. Joseph “Ace” Durano: 8

Cavite Rep. Luis “Jon-jon” Ferrer IV: 6

Kalinga party-list Rep. Abigail Faye Ferriol: 6

Palawan Rep. Douglas Hagedorn: 8

Aklan Rep. Teodorico Haresco Jr.: 9

Zamboanga del Norte Rep. Seth Frederick Jalosjos: 4

Albay Rep. Edcel “Grex” Lagman: 4

Surigao del Norte Rep. Francisco “Lalo” Matugas: 8

Southern Leyte Rep. Damian Mercado: 8

Surigao del Norte Rep. Guillermo Romarate Jr.: 7

Tawi-tawi Rep. Ruby Sahali: 6

Ilocos Sur Rep. Ronald Singson: 6

LPG-MA party-list Rep. Arnel Ty: 9

There were other lawmakers who had single-digit attendance records for the third regular session, but their absences were due to circumstances beyond their control.

Representatives Mary Elizabeth Ty-Delgado, Lord Allan Jay Velasco, Raul Daza and Roberto Mascariña, meanwhile, were only sworn in this year and thus managed to attend only a few sessions before Congress adjourned on June 6.

Of the 293 lawmakers whose attendance were recorded in the first to third regular session, 60 had a perfect attendance record of 23 days with zero absences and no days deemed present. – Dexter Yap (with reports from 16th Congress Media Affairs and Public Relations Service