Lamitan Council declares 5 villages as Agro-Industrial zone PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 24 March 2017 11:37

The Lamitan City Council has passed a resolution declaring five barangays as an Agro-Industrial Zone.

The barangays were identified as Balas, Maloong Canal, Luksumbang, Calugusan and Buahan.

Lamitan Vice-Mayor Roderick Furigay said that the resolution is in line with the proposed establishment of an Agro-Industrial Economic Zone in Basilan province.

The proposed plan was submitted during an economic zone summit attended by President Rodrigo Duterte in Davao city.

“Our area, the five barangays, is very suitable because it is a coastal.  It is a channel facing Zamboanga city,” said Furigay.

He voiced out plans to put up a port, processing plants and other structures.

The agro-industrial zone will reportedly focus on propagating rubber and cacao and marine livelihood programs. (Allen Abastillas)