Three Abu Sayyaf extremists surrender to troops in Sulu PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 05 October 2017 17:43


Three  members of the Abu Sayyaf Group (AG)  have decided to return to the folds of the law as  the military  has step up  their campaign  against the extremists in the province.

Joint Task Force Sulu Commander Brig Gen Cirilito Sobejana identified the ASG members  who surrendered to the  government  forces in Sulu as  Jimil Inggan, 25, Madjidul Asari, 47, and Alex Issan, 38, all residents of  Barangay Liang in  Patikul, Sulu

The trio  surrendered to the troops of the 32nd  Infantry Battalion under Lt.  Col.  Jaran Abdula in  the village of Bonbon in Patikul, Sulu  about  10:30am,  last Saturday, Sept 30.

Also yielded by the group of Inggan were two Garand rifles, which were subsequently brought by the troops to the headquarters of the 501st Brigade, according to Sobejana.

The surrendered Abu Sayyaf members are thefollowers of the late sub-leader Ninok Sappari

“Inggan and his companions are currently undergoing custodial debriefing facilitated by our intelligence operatives,” said Sobejana.

He added  “This surrender was facilitated by our intelligence units which are exhausting all means to From January 1, 2017.”

To date, there are a total of 117 ASG who laid down their arms.  Of this, 65 surrendered in Basilan, 29 in Sulu, 21 in Tawi-Tawi, and two in Zamboanga City.

“Our offensives will continue despite the mounting number of Abu Sayyaf members who are now deciding to lay down their arms,” Sobejana continued..

For his part, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Western Mindanao Command (AFP-WestMinCom) Commander Lt Gen Carlito G. Galvez, Jr., said  “We gladly welcome these bandits as we prepare them to live in the mainstream.”

Galvez also said that  the military’s  Joint Task Forces will continue to keep guard as they sustain the conduct of combat and intelligence operations in their joint areas of operations.

Efforts are ongoing to rescue the hostages and contain the bandits in the province,” Galvez added. (Nonoy E Lacson)