Council passes 11 Island Ordinance Print
Wednesday, 18 April 2018 13:41

By RG Antonet Go

The Zamboanga City Council approved the 11Island Ordinance  during its regular session yesterday, thus bringing the islands closer to being one of a few  tourist destinations under governmental regulation.
Councilor Benjamin Guingona, author of the ordinance, said that the Island Developmental Board will now be organized and convened to draft the management and development plan of the island.
An initial funding of P5-million will be appropriated for the island’s development.
Only four of the eleven islands will be opened to tourists:  Siromon, Buh Buh, Baong Baong, and Bisaya Bisaya.
This is reportedly due to some cultural reasons affecting inhabitants of other islands.
A fee of P200 representing environmental and entrance fees will be collected for people wishing to visit the island group.
The 11-island group is composed of Bisaya-Bisaya, Kabugan, Siromon, Baong-Baong, Buhbuh, Simadang, Salangan, Lambang-Lambang, Bagias, Lampinigan, and Sibana islands.  (RGAAGo)