Brgy, SK officials air support for Lobregat PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 03 November 2010 14:08

Winners of the October 25 synchronized barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections in the city have unanimously expressed their full support to Mayor Celso Lobregat and his administration.

In a meeting held yesterday morning at La Vista del Mar, the first since after the elections last week, the reelected and newly elected chairmen of the city’s 98 barangays together with their respective SK chairmen pledged one after the other to support the chief executive, his programs and projects for development of the city.

It can be noted that out of the city’s 98 barangay chairmen, 88 ran in the October 25 elections, but only 56 won their re-election bid, while 42 others are new comers. The SK chairmen, on the other hand, are all newcomers, mostly high school and first year college students.

For his part, Mayor Lobregat, who played neutral during the elections, thanked each and every barangay chairman and SK chairman for throwing out their support to him, stressing that the development of every barangay depends largely on the cooperation of the officials.

The event was jointly organized by the Liga ng mga Barangay under Councilor Abdurahman Nuño and the Barangay Affairs division under Mario Roca.

Roca said the meeting was more of a get to know each other as a number of the winners in both the barangay and SK elections are newcomers. Each barangay and SK chairmen were asked to introduce themselves.

The meeting likewise sought to discuss about the need for proper turnover of barangay records, financial records, equipment and other properties to the new set of officials who will assume their posts 12:01pm of November 30.

On the other hand, chief executive assistant Roca said issues concerning the elections of Liga and SK officials were not discussed as the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) has yet to issue the guidelines.

Also present during the meeting were Vice Mayor Cesar Iturralde, Councilors Rudy Lim, Nonong Guingona, Myra Paz Valderrosa-Abubakar, VP Elago, Abdurahman and Lilia Nuño, Percival Ramos and Jimmy Cabato together with City Hall Executive Assistant V Mario Roca, EA Amilpasa “Caloy” Bandaying and Jojo Paragas.

By Vic Larato