13 Abus yield in Sulu PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 09 July 2018 17:33


Thirteen (13) members of the Abu Sayyaf Group (ASG) formally surrendered to the  military  in Talipao, Sulu during  a peaceful  negotiation last Saturday night.

Joint Task Force-Sulu (JTF-Sulu) Commander Brig. Gen. Divino Rey Pabayo said that the thirteen (13) ASG gunmen voluntarily surrendered to Lt Col Jessie R. Montoya, commanding officer of the 2nd Special Forces Battalion (2SFBn) in the village of  Samak, Talipao Sulu at around 9pm last Saturday.

Pabayo said that the ASG also brought with them assorted firearms and promised to bring more after their initial processing at the headquarters of the 2SFBn.

The surrenderors included three brothers of the late Abu Sayyaf sub-leader Alden Bagadi identified as Mudjakar B. Bagadi, Madzramil B. Bagadi, and Benarauf B. Bagadi.

The others are Albaser Hadjiri, Junimar Sampangan, Alvarez Rasid, Aksan Adam, Sahari Absari, Jeneyvar Muammil, and Amil Sangkaan.

All are residents of Indanan, Sulu under ASG sub-leader Bagadi.

The ten were later joined by three more surrenderors:  Albenal Dawadil, Nanoh aka Sab Abdurahsad and Sabri Bidin, followers of ASG sub-leader Apo Mike.

"This is a clear manifestation that we are achieving our goal of clearing Sulu Province  of ASG bandits through peaceful means," said Pabayo.

For his part, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Western Mindanao Command (AFP-WestMinCom) Chief Lt. Gen. Arnel Dela Vega said  "We welcome the surrenderors and will ensure that they will be covered by the support packages offered in the government’s ‘Oplan Balikloob.’

“We also urge the  remaining ASG members to surrender and live to  a normal life again in the community,”  Dela Vega said.  (Ely Dumaboc)