(Foreigners visit “Once Islas”)11 Islands receive more than 800 visitors PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 01 September 2018 12:45

By RG Antonet Go

Zamboanga City’s 11island-group, the newest tourism attraction to be developed by the city government, has been visited by more than 800 people since its soft opening last July 1.

Sarita Sebastian Hernandez, City Tourism Officer, said that among visitors of the islands are foreigners coming from the United States, Qatar, United Kingdom, Japan, and Canada.

According to the tourism officer, the visitors love the island’s rock formation, fine white sand, and the pristine waters.

There are three islands open for the public at present.  These are Siromon, Baong-Baong and Bisaya-bisaya.

“If things will go right, this will be one of the best destinations del diatun nacion,” Hernandez said.

She also sees this as an asset to the tourism industry of the city as it is community base operated and supervised by the City Tourism Office.

The city will still construct   facilities for the use of guests.  These include comfort rooms, watch towers, picnic huts, and other environmental- friendly infrastructure.

The island is also good for swimming, snorkeling, trekking, and other water activities. For the tour, they can choose full route where they can see all the islands or the Bisaya Bisaya Baung Baung tour.

Once (11) Islas is open 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. and can be visited by guests using 17 registered pump boats.  The islands are  closed to the public during Monday and Friday.

The islands are closed during Monday for clean-up and for religious obligation by its residents on Fridays.

Interested parties must reserve at the City Tourism Office, present the reservation slip at Barangay Panubigan, proceed to the terminal accompanied by a local guide and depart for the mainland not later than 3 p.m.

Entrance fee is P100, environmental fee P100, and ferry costs P2,500 for 15 persons or P170 per person.

The 11 Island-group is composed of Bisaya-bisaya, Kabugan, Siromon, Baong-Baong, Buhbuh, Simadang, Salangan, Lambang-Lambang, Bagias, Lampinigan, and Sibana Islands. (RGAAGo)