Fabian Cup inter-school cage tourney opens today PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 24 September 2011 16:34

Top universities, colleges and high schools are fielding their basketball teams to the 7th Cong. Erbie A. Fabian Student’s Cup, Inter-school basketball competition which gets underway today, September 24 at the Mayor Agan Memorial Coliseum.

Organized by the El Federacion Basketbolista de Zamboanga or FBZ, the Fabian student’s cup drew 19 school teams who will be grouped into two categories namely under 16 and the PCCL or Collegiate Division.

Teams in the under 16 category are Claret School of Zamboanga City, Ateneo de Zamboanga University, J-Jireh School, Saint Joseph School, Zion Evangelical School, Inc., Bethany Child Development Center Inc., Ferndale International School Inc., Pilar College, Turkish Tolerance School, Western Mindanao State University, Don Pablo Lorenzo Memorial High School, Zamboanga City High School-Main, Zamboanga National High –West, Divisoria National High School, Talon -Talon National High School, and Ayala National High School.

In the PCCL Collegiate Category, teams entered are Southern City Colleges, Ateneo, Pilar Colleges, J-Jireh School, Brent Hospital & Colleges, Inc., and Zamboanga State College of Marine Sciences and Technology.

Invited to grace the occasion will be District 2 Rep. Erbie A. Fabian and Mayor Celso L. Lobregat for the opening program rites.

Samahang Basketbolista ng Pilipinas Regional Director and Human Rights Commissioner Jose Manuel Mamauag will declare the games open.

The students’ cagefest enters its 7th year staging here as more schools are entering each year in the competition to earn bragging rights as the best schools basketball team in all of Zamboanga City.

FBZ President andSBP Mindanao Area Head  Pete Alfaro Jr. heads the organizing committee for this year’s Cong. Fabian Students’ Cup.