Beng urges review of selection criteria for president of SUC PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 29 November 2011 17:02

House Deputy Speaker Beng Climaco has filed House Resolution 1938 calling the House of Representatives’ Committee on Higher and Technical Education to conduct a review on the criteria and procedure in the appointment of Presidents of State Universities and Colleges (SUCs).

The Higher Education Modernization Act of 1997 (HEMA 1997) modified the composition of the governing boards of chartered state universities and colleges. Pursuant to Section 15 of HEMA 1997, the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) adopted CHED Memo No. 03 – s.2001 embodying the Implementing Rules and Regulations of HEMA 1997.

Rule VII of the IRR-HEMA 1997 laid down the manner of selection and appointment of the Presidents of SUCs including minimum qualification and term of office in which under Section 21, it states that the President of a chartered SUC shall be selected and appointed by its Governing Board (GB) upon the recommendation of a Search Committee for the Presidency (SCP) duly constituted it. Also, Section 23 provided for the search committee to constitute the governing board of SUCs and shall recruit and screen applicants for President and may devise its own procedures for the search.

“The search committee is granted the discretion to formulate criteria and procedures in the recruitment and screening of the nominees. There is a leeway given in the qualification, standards, criteria and procedure in the application, selection, nomination, and appointment of the President of SUCs, thus there is a need for Congress to conduct an inquiry in aid of legislation regarding the criteria and procedure currently used by SUCs Governing Board in the selection. It is a must also for Congress to review HEMA 1997 to address the foregoing inadequacy and to streamline the selection process,” the Zamboanga City’s First District Representative said.

The absence of pertinent guidelines in ensuring the legal capacities of nominees triggered the legislators from the minority and the majority in filing HR 1938. Co-authors for this measure were: Deputy Minority Leader Carlos M. Padilla, Representative of the Lone District Nueva Vizcaya together with Representatives Maximo B. Dalog (Mountain Province, Lone District) and Raymond V. Palatino (KABATAAN Party List) whore are both members for the majority for the House of Representatives Committee on Higher and Technical Education. — Marvin Segura