Incumbent officials of 52 brgys in Talipao unopposed in Oct. 25 poll PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 09 November 2010 12:44

For the first time in the history of Philippine politics, incumbent barangay chairmen, councilmen (kagawad) and Sangguniang Kabataang (SK) chairmen and junior kagawad of the 52 barangays in the municipality of Talipao, Sulu ran for reelection unopposed during the October 25 election.

The reelectionist candidates of the 52 barangays did this almost unbelievable feat by themselves through political arrangements and maneuvering without any intervention or control from Talipao Mayor Hadja Sitti Raya Tulawie and Vice Mayor Tambrin Tulawie, according to a reliable source.

As a result, the barangay and SK election in Talipao on Oct. 25 emerged as the most peaceful and orderly in Sulu, if not in the whole of Philippines, earning a commendation from government agencies including the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

DILG commended the Talipao officials and constituents for achieving this political situation which could become a model for the rest of the Sulu province and other places in the country.

"It was a very peaceful and orderly election. There was no untoward incident and the incumbent officials from the 52 barangays were immediately proclaimed," said the source.

Officials said the feat in Talipao was a manifestation of the unity of the people under the leadership of a mayor and vice mayor who are determined to bring progress and development in their town.