Celso pays tribute to local firefighters PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 23 December 2011 14:58

Saying his administration understands the predicament the local fire department is beset with, Mayor Celo Lobregat said Wednesday the city’s firemen never falter in their duties and responsibility despite the very limited gears to protect them from harm in the line of duty.

“Still, you remain committed to save lives and properties from fires. And I would like to thank you in behalf of the entire Zamboangueño people for your dedication to your duties and putting the interests of the people over and above your own. In our eyes, you are already heroes,” Lobregat told the local firefighters during the 38th Fire Service Recognition Day, December 21.

“In recognition of your efforts,” he said, “the city government is equally committed to helping our local fire and police departments make our city safer.”

Last November 22, the city turned over the P1.9 million fire station in Sta. Catalina. The other fire stations constructed during his administration are those located in Quiniput, Guiwan, Boalan, Talisayan, Sinunuc, Recodo and Upper Calarian. Two others are on the pipeline—Labuan and Sangali fire station projects.  This effort is being pursued right now not only in terms of infrastructures but also equipment like fire trucks and also in terms of allowances. “And rest assured this will be our constant commitment,” the mayor vowed.

“This Yuletide season, I hope you would remain vigilant fighting and more importantly preventing fire. We have sufficiently warned our people from buying substandard Christmas lights but we still cannot discount those who chose not to take heed. Let us also work hard to ensure warehouses around the city do not store large volumes of fireworks to prevent a repeat of the Pacific blast,” Lobregat further told the firemen.

During the program, the Bureau of Fire Protection headed by its new regional director Sr. Supt. Carlito B. Oceña handed over certificates of recognition for a job well done to Sr. Insp. Edgar D. Pagente, Insp. Sergio O. Gala, SFO4 Memor A. Eguia, SFO4 Ruben L. Natividad, SFO3 Edgardo A. Mirasol, SFO3 Kay M. Asmad, SFO2 Wilfredo A. Orquijo and SFO1 Celso G. Gamiel.

Commended were wounded firefighters SFO2 Romeo A. Santos, FO1 Reymond T. Gutierrez and FO1 Belen L. Galanay.

Also present during were District Fire Marshal Supt. Dominador F. Zabala, Jr., Sr. Insp. Ruben Joel R. Argamento, officer-in-charge of administration division, and other BFP officials. — Vic Larato