Mariano heads new WMSU Alumni directors PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 28 December 2011 16:15

After a hotly-contested election last December 10, the newly elected members of the board of the Western Mindanao State University Alumni Association Inc. (WMSU-AAI) were formally sworn into office recently.

Former Councilor Charlie Mariano is the newly-elected president of the 15-man board composed of equally reliable and dynamic leaders.

Elected 1st Vice President is Dr. Carla Ochotorena, 2nd Vice President- Pedro Melchor Natividad, Secretary – Angelo Cawasa, Treasurer — Dr. Ronald Abaa, Auditor — Dr. Nolan Iglesia, PIO- Alex B. Mabalot and Business Manager- Edgar Araojo. The board directors are Sarita Hernandez, Atty. Eduardo Sanson, Dante Corteza, Dr. Chester Coronel, Prof. Mahmor Edding (outgoing Alumni President), Atty. Grace Tillah and Jason Climaco.

Prominent lawyer Quirino Esguerra Jr. sworn the new WMSU-AAI board into office during fitting rites held at the Lantaka Hotel, December 16.  The new board’s term will start January 2012.

Heading the list of guests during the oath-taking rites were Mayor Celso Lobregat, WMSU Vice President for Research and Development Dr. Milabel Ho, WMSU Vice President for Planning, Administration and Finance Dr. Loida Mangahan, Prof. Elisa Mantilla and numerous others.

In his message, Mariano said the WMSU-AAI is not only a weapon but a very potent force in enhancing the development of the University as a whole not only of the Alumni Association.

“And if properly tapped, properly used and properly utilized for the purpose mentioned, I think nothing can go wrong and this will be the greatest alumni officialdom ever in the history of WMSU”, Mariano declared.

He said he accepts the decision made by the directorate, even as some sectors seem not to accept the same, “and I hope that with the voice already expressed by the alumni voters—the members of the Alumni Association- whether they voted or not, I expect the full acceptance from the Board of Regents come January”.  He vowed that he will not be bringing his personal voice to the Board of Regents but that he will be the mouthpiece of the entire WMSU Alumni Association.

“I  hope we use this fresh mandate to really show and make a difference and make people not only in Zamboanga but around the world for all of us to try to do bigger and better in trailblazing things for the WMSU”, he emphasized.

Mariano added: “we are part of the alumni association coz we love WMSU and WMSU is not for sale, in the same manner as WMSU-AAI is not for sale.  We shall do our level best –we will do our very best and the best is yet to come –for the WMSU AAI”.

Dr. Ochotorena took pride in the WARM party’s overwhelming victory during the elections. “Out of the 15 seats we were able to get the 12 seats and that’s a great achievement to our party. Thank you very much for all your support to the party and we will never let you down, with the 12-strong alumni board of directors headed by president Charlie Mariano, we will never go wrong with the right attitude, legal attitude and moral ascendancy to the organization”.

The WARM party ran on the following platforms: work on the alumni constitution for it to level up and conform with the needs of the present day alumni; advocate for a well-crafted alumni agenda, as in a sustainable fund-generation scheme among others, before the Board of Regents; re-engineer, democratize decision making processes of the organization and manage alumni’s untapped vast human resource as exponent of self-less and game-changing service.

Mariano, Ochotorena, Natividad, Cawasa, Abaa, Iglesia, Mabalot, Araojo, Hernandez, Sanson, Corteza and Coronel formed part of the WARM party. Edding, Tillah and Climaco who came from the REFORMA party were not present during the oath taking rites. — Sheila Covarrubias