President appoints Celso RPOC-9 chair PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 30 January 2012 13:05

President Noynoy Aquino has named Mayor Celso Lobregat as Chairman of the Regional Peace and Order Council for Zamboanga Peninsula (RPOC-9), the body that ensures a more comprehensive and effective coordination of government efforts and the active participation of citizenry in the campaign against criminality and insurgency.

Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa in a letter dated November 15 informed Local Government Secretary Jesse Robredo about President Aquino’s approval of the nomination of Mayor Lobregat and other chairpersons of RPOCs in the country. Secretary Robredo, on the other hand, by virtue of his authority as chair of the National Peace and Order Council pursuant to the provisions of EO 773-2009, issued Lobregat’s appointment papers November 28.

Mayor Lobregat will formally assume the post in a few days’ time, after taking his oath of office before Secretary Robredo.

Mayor Lobregat was nominated along with Pagadian City Mayor Samuel Co and Zamboanga Sibugay Governor Rommel Jalosjos to the position by the RPOC-9 members last September 21. Jalosjos, however, backed out from the race.

City Administrator Antonio Orendain Jr. said it has been the practice of the RPOC-9 to elect its chairman and other officers and to submit the list to the Office of the President for confirmation. In 2007, Mayor Lobregat was elected chairman and Zamboanga del Norte Gov. Rolando Yebes was vice chairman but former President Gloria Arroyo appointed then Zamboanga del Sur Governor and now Congresswoman Aurora Cerilles to the post. Because of this precedent, the RPOC in its Sept. 21 meeting opted to identify nominees for submission of the list to the Office of the President and the DILG.

The RPOC exists in every region in the country and is composed of city and municipal mayors, governors, national office directors, private sector representatives, military and the Police Regional Director.

The Council is responsible for proper management and supervision of the civilian volunteer organizations in coordination with other appropriate government entities. Its duties and functions include the formulation of plans and recommend such measures as will improve or enhance peace and order and public safety in their respective areas of responsibility; to monitor the implementation of peace and order programs and projects at the provincial, city or municipal levels and the operation of Civilian Volunteer Self-Defense Organizations and such other counterinsurgency programs and activities;  make periodic assessments of the prevailing peace and order situation in their respective areas of responsibility and submit a report thereon with recommendations to the Chairman of the National Peace and Order Council and to receive complaints against government personnel, civilian, or military, and indorse the same to the agency concerned and demand/compel such agency to submit reports of action taken thereon.”

Aside from Mayor Lobregat, Executive Secretary Ochoa said the other appointed RPOC chairpersons in their respective regions are Mayor Michael Fariñas of Laoag City for Region 1, Gov. Junie Cua of Province of Quirino for Region 2, Gov. Paul Daza of the Province of Northern Samar of Region 8, Gov. Oscar Moreno of the Province of Misamis Oriental of Region 10 and Mayor Ferdinand Amante, Jr. of Butuan City of Region 13. — Sheila Covarrubias