Beng co-authors bill making Women’s Day, a holiday PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 29 February 2012 13:02

Deputy Speaker Maria Isabelle “Beng” Climaco has co-sponsored House Bill 3962 which seeks to amend Republic Act 6949 or An Act to Declare March Eight of Every Year as a Working Special Holiday.

The House of Representatives has approved on second reading a bill declaring March 8 of each year as National Women’s Day, a non-working holiday in the Philippines.

Authored by the Gabriela Party-list Reps. Luzviminda Ilagan and Emmi De Jesus, the bill was endorsed for plenary approval by the House Committee on Women and Gender Equality.

The bill mandates all government agencies at all levels, including attached agencies and Local Government Units, and government owned and controlled corporations, through their GAD (Gender and Development) Focal Persons, to prepare and implement a program in the observance of the National Women’s Day on March 8 of every year commemorating the role of women in the history of the country and promoting awareness on women’s rights and participation in national development.

“As one of the principal authors of the Magna Carta of Women (Republic Act 9710), I am championing this cause. I fully support this measure as this would benefit our women. The Philippine Commission on Women will coordinate and monitor the implementation of this proposed measure. Under the bill, funds for the implementation of measure shall be taken out of the 5% Gender and Development budget allotted to all government agencies and local government units,” Climaco said.

On April 10, 1990, President Corazon Aquino signed into law, RA 6949, declaring March 8 of every year as a special working holiday, known as National Women’s Day.

The co-authors of the bill are Reps. Josephine Veronique Lacson-Noel (Lone District, Malabon City), Susan Yap (2nd District, Tarlac), Jane Castro (2nd District, Capiz), Linabelle Ruth Villarica (4th District, Bulacan), Reena Concepcion Obillo (Party List, Una ang Pamilya), Lani Marcado-Revilla (2nd District, Cavite), Emmeline Aglipay(Party List, DIWA), Catalina Bagasina(Party List, ALE), Imelda Quibranza Dimaporo (1st District, Lanao del Norte), Eleanor Bulut-Begtang (Lone District, Apayao), Maria Milagros Magsaysay (1st District, Zambales) and Sharon Garin (Party List, AAMBIS-OWA).

For being the champion for the elimination of Violence Against Women and Children, integrating education on gender equality in society, women’s economic empowerment, women’s participation; and women’s health, Deputy Speaker Climaco was conferred the BAYI Citation for Exemplary Women Leadership in Politics and Governance early last year. — Marvin Segura