Gov. Akbar backs voters’ re-registration in ARMM PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 16 May 2012 14:11

Basilan Gov. Jum Akbar yesterday announced that she fully supports the decision of the Senate and House of Representatives to annul the book of voters and to hold a new general registration in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

Voting 14-0, with no abstention, the Senate immediately passed on third and final reading both the Senate Joint Resolution No. 17 and House Joint Resolution No. 29 after the Office of the Senate President received on Tuesday a letter from President Benigno Aquino III certifying as urgent the two resolutions.

President Aquino said in his letter that there is urgent need to annul the book of voters in ARMM and to conduct new registration in time for the May 2013 synchronized ARMM and national elections to implement the much-needed electoral reforms and ensure an orderly and honest election.

Akbar has sent on Tuesday her legal counsel Atty. Quirino Esguerra, Jr. to the House of Representatives to officially relay her support to the move through the House Committee on Suffrage and Electoral Reforms chaired by Cavite second district Congressman Elpidio Barzaga, Jr.

Akbar said she supports the passage of the joint resolutions by Congress since its approval will ensure the conduct of honest and orderly election in the ARMM areas.

Akbar said the annulment of voters and holding of new general registration will also erase doubts or suspicions that the list of registered voters in ARMM is padded.

In effect, Akbar said it will also erase suspicions that the election in ARMM is tainted with cheating and other forms of fraud.

Senator Aquilino Pimentel, III, who was here last Sunday, said that the new general registration of voters in ARMM is tentatively scheduled to be held from July 9 to 18, this year.

Akbar urged the residents of Basilan in particular and of the ARMM in general to register during the holding of the new general registration of voters so they can exercise their rights of suffrage.

Aside from Basilan, the other areas that form part of ARMM are the provinces of Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.