June 6 declared as special non-working day in Zambo Norte PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 18 May 2012 15:01

President Benigno S. Aquino III has declared June 6 which falls on a Wednesday as a special (non-working) day in the province of Zamboanga del Norte in celebration of its 60th Foundation Day.

The Chief Executive issued the declaration through Proclamation No. 380 signed by Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa Jr. on Monday, May 14, to give the people of Zamboanga del Norte the full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies.

Zamboanga Representative Roseller Lim authored the bill that divided the province of Zamboanga into the provinces of Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur.

On June 6, 1952, the bill became the Republic Act No. 711 that created the Province of Zamboanga del Norte with Dipolog as the capital town and the Province of Zamboanga del Sur with Pagadian as its capital. — PIA