DZT, Tatak RMN radio win Requiza awards PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 21 May 2012 14:02

Daily Zamboanga Times, DXRZ Tatak-RMN and its sister station DXWR-i-FM, have been chosen as the Most Popular Local Newspaper, Most Popular AM-Radio Station and FM Station respectively by students of Western Mindanao State University (WMSU) in the recent REQUIZA Students’ Choice Award 2012 of the College of Communications and Humanities in Western Mindanao State University (WMSU).

Prof. Butch Villanueva of the Mass Communication Department said the search is one of the requirements of the Masscom graduating students where they were tasked to conduct an honest-to-goodness survey among WMSU  students as to their favorite local media personalities and the most watch TV, most listened radio station and most read newspaper.

Villanueva, who graduated Mass Communication in WMSU in the early 90s, said the REQUIZA, a chabacano word which mean scrutinize, has been doing similar activity for the past three years with the aim of giving due recognition to local media outfits and personalities for the incomparable service to the community.

Aside from giving award to the chosen media personalities and outfits, REQUIZA has also awarded fellow Masscom students in their respective field of expertise like documentation, news writing, film editing, photography, etc..

Aside from DZT and RMN, other awardees are: Most Popular TV Talk Show Host — Congressman Erbie A. Fabian of Cuentas Claras, Most Popular Radio News Anchor — Teodyver Arquiza of Kuskus Batikus over RMN, Most Popular TV Newscaster — Jewel Mendoza-Reyes-TV Patrol Chavacano of ABS-CBN, Most Popular AM-Radio Program — Buenas Dias of Jun Feliciano over Radyo ng Bayan, Most Popular TV Talk Show — No Limit in TV-11, Most Popular TV Newscast is Chavacano TV-Patrol of ABS-CBN, Most Popular TV Magazine Host— Congresswoman Maria Isabelle Climaco of BENG over TV-11 and Most Popular Columnist — Betty Elago of DZT.

It was the second time for DZT to have been chosen as Most Popular Local Newspaper.— Jimmy Villaflores