LGUs top list of gov’t agencies with most no. of cases in Ombudsman PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 23 May 2012 14:25

Local government units (LGUs) topped the list of government agencies with the most number of cases filed before the Office of the Ombudsman in 2011.

In a report by the Ombudsman’s Finance and Management Information Office (FMIO), a total of 3,852 cases were filed against local government officials last year.

Of the number, 2,075 were filed before the Ombudsman-Central; 633 – Ombudsman-Luzon; 600 – Ombudsman-Visayas; and 544 – Ombudsman-Mindanao.

Here’s the list of top 20 agencies with the most number of cases filed at Ombudsman in 2011:

— LGUs - 3,852; Philippine National Police (PNP) - 1,128; Department of Education (DepEd) - 562; Philippine Information Agency (PIA) - 490; Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) - 416; Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) - 304; Bureau of Customs (BOC) - 177; Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) - 155; Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) - 148; Department of Justice (DOJ) - 98;

— Department of Finance (DOF) - 92; Department of Health (DOH) - 87; Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) - 86; Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR) - 81; Commission on Higher Education (CHED) - 57; Commission on Elections (Comelec) - 54; National Labor Relations Commission (NLRC) - 48; Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) - 47; National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) - 45; and National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) - 45.

On the other hand, 14 agencies have the least number of cases filed in 2011, namely: Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR); Bureau of Local Government Finance (BLGF); Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP); Commission on Human Rights (CHR); Commission on Information and Communication Technology (CICT); Cooperative Development Authority (CDA); Department of Agrarian Reform Adjudication Board (DARAB), Malolos City; Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA); Government Service Insurance System (GSIS); Laguna Lake Development Authority (LLDA); Local Civil Registrar (LCR); Philippine National Oil Company (PNOC); Senate of the Philippines; and the Technical Education Skills and Development Authority (TESDA).

Only one case has been filed against officials of the said agencies in 2011.

There were only two cases filed against officials of the Department of Tourism (DOT), Mactan-Cebu International Airport Authority (MCIAA), National Statistics Office (NSO), Philippine Veterans Affairs Office (PVAO), and the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA).

Three cases were filed against officials of the Metro Iloilo Water District, while four cases were filed against officials of the Housing and Land Use Regulatory Board (HLURB), Land Bank of the Philippines (LBP), National Food Authority (NFA), National Police Commission (Napolcom) and the Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA).

Meanwhile, five cases were filed against officials of the Airport Police (AP), Civil Service Commission (CSC), Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB), and Prison Guards.