6 design entries qualify for Sta. Cruz dev’t project PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 12 June 2012 14:04

At least six architectural designs have qualified for the city government’s upcoming multi-million peso project to develop the Great Sta. Cruz Island into a tourist destination, now that it has been identified as one of CNN’s Top 10 Beach Resorts in the Philippines.

The entries will now go to the next level of the competition—that is the submission of scale model for the entire development plan.

The entries were submitted by participants in the architectural design competition for the professional group as Category I and architecture graduates or students from the Western Mindanao State University (WMSU), being the only institution of higher learning in the city that offers architecture course.

The entries are those of (Category I) Manolo L. Tatel of the United Architects of the Philippines, Zamboanga Chapter; Efren Jay Tangcalagan of UAP Zamboanga City Chapter with Harold P. Generoso as member, and Arch. Noelito B. del Rosario of UAP, ZC Chapter with Rey O. Cruz as member.

For Category II, the participants are Mark Errol Bosque (team leader) with Herolene L. Julian, Ralph P. Saavedra and Keila C. Macahis as members; May Christine M. Tolomia (team leader) with members Jo Rena Otadoy Inding, Jude Carl Magsayo Arceo, Ernan Sunkip Natividad, Yasser Padilla Anduol and Luke Donald Garcia Cadelina; and Sharif F. Morales with Remlito Tuble de Maria as member.

Mayor Lobregat, who led a team that judged the entries, said each qualifying group will receive P10,000 this week and will now proceed to the next level of the competition—that is the submission of scale model for the entire development plan. Deadline for the submission will be June 11.

All winning entries for both categories will be awarded with cash prizes. For Category I the 1st placer will receive P100, 000, P60, 000 for the 2nd placer while the 3rd placer will take home P40, 000. In Category II the 1st placer will receive P50, 000 while the 2nd and 3rd placers will receive P30, 000 and P20, 000, respectively.

The Sta. Cruz architectural design competition is a joint project of the city government and the United Architects Association (UAP) Zamboanga Chapter led by Architect Shiralee Pajarito and the WMSU College of Architecture led by Arch. Boboy Abarro.  The contest was officially launched April 12 and is intended to search for the best architectural design to be used in the development of the Great Sta. Cruz Island Resort as a premier ecotourism destination in the country.

The contest is a two-phase design tilt starting with the pre-qualification state yesterday. The P10,000 cash grant to each of the qualifying individual or team is to defray the cost of developing the architectural designs which include major and minor structures and amentias like the administration building, staff house, pavilion, concession stalls for food and beverages, souvenir shop/boutique, water sports or dive shop and massage/reflexology center.

It also includes the local products area where locals of the island can display and sell their products to beachgoers, public comfort stations, outdoor showers, picnic huts and family cottages, wash areas, grillers, lifeguard station, viewing deck with catwalk, desalination facilities, solar panels, materials recovery facility, water tanks and other auxiliary structures.

As an integral part of the criteria in designing the mentioned structures and spaces, a low-impact approach will be highly observed where natural and indigenous materials that are least destructive to the environment are preferred to be used.

Mayor Lobregat emphasized that the development of the “Las Islas de Santa Cruz” will not destroy the surrounding environment to include the living and non-living elements that are within the protected zone. — Vic Larato