Zamcelco’s AGMA appoints Atilano as general manager PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 19 June 2012 13:50

In a resolution approved by Zamcelco’s Annual General Membership Assembly (AGMA),

Zamcelco Board Vice President Elbert “Bong” Atilano, Sr., was appointed as general manager of the cooperative last Sunday at the Multi-Purpose hall of Zamcelco in Putik.

Councilor Abdurahman Nuño, as a member-consumer, sponsored the resolution and to allocate funds for publication in the local media which was approved by the assembly with almost 2,000member-consumers present in three separate monitoring centers in Putik (main), Ayala and Sangali.

Zamcelco OIC and NEA Consultant Charito Mabitazan respected the decision of the assembly and Councilor Nuño as the proponent of the resolution.
However, he said the resolution is subject to NEA’s approval in Manila.

“Let the court decide it or the Solicitor General shall give its comment,” Nuño said.

“The member-consumers through AGMA have already spoken. We have faced many challenges, we’ll accept it but we need to pass a process as we’re still under the supervision of NEA,” Atilano said.

This is the first time that Zamcelco as the 4th largest cooperative in the country, uses a state-of-the-art monitoring technology in three separate venues.

“This is new innovation what other cooperatives in the country have done to test if it is effective. If not, we’ll see the problem and find solution for improvement so that member-consumers in far-flung areas will not commute and attend to one particular place for the annual assembly,” Atilano said.

Atilano was also elected as the new Zamcelco Board President during a meeting with the Board of Directors after the assembly with Efren Perez as Vice President; Omar Sahi, Secretary and Ernesto “Toy” Perez as Treasurer.

Meanwhile, District 1 Rep. Beng Climaco,  during the assembly, inducted into office the newly elected Board of Directors Ernesto perez of District 7 and District 6 Director Omar Sahi and the officers of the Multi-Sectoral Electrification Advisory Council (MSEAC). — MLF