Beng nominated to TESDA 2012 Kabalikat Awards PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 11 July 2012 14:14

Due to her enormous support to the advocacy on Technical Education and Skills Development (TESDA), House Deputy Speaker and District 1 Representative Beng Climaco has been nominated to this year’s Kabalikat Award.

The Kabalikat Award is TESDA’s initiative to give honor and recognition to all those who support the propagation of the Technical Education and Skills Development in a particular area. The award is a nationwide search.

For the 2012 Kabalikat Awards, the Office of Cong Beng Climaco is nominated as legislative partner for having been supportive of the TESD programs through fund allocated to TESDA in the last 5 years.

“We are happy that our efforts were noticed and we are inspired with the nomination. We still don’t know of the outcome of the search, but to be included in the roster of nominees is something to be grateful for. Meanwhile, we continue with all our scheduled TESDA trainings in the barangay,” Climaco declared.

The 1st District Congressional Office has been very proactive in going out to the communities in both districts to carry out these trainings. The team is headed by Mr. Kenneth Vincent Beldua, Barangay Liaison Officer of the Office of Cong Beng Climaco.

“It has been our personal commitment to reach out to as many communities, especially those who really made their requests in our office because we see it’s sustainability to those who take the course. I believe so that other groups have seen this working too well that some individuals gatecrashed in the training we conducted in a far-flung barangay and ride-on our TESDA training,” Beldua said.

Climaco’s office had been supporting the TESDA through provisions of scholarships in both schools and communities through various partnerships.
“We teach people how to fish because this will go long-term,” Climaco added.

To this date, Climaco has already provided together with TESDA funds amounting to P13M since 2008 and has graduated a total of 10,265 scholars in both school and community-based programs. — Marvin Segura